LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Health and Illness

At a glance - books relating to health and illness

Shows the cover of A way out of madness by Daniel MacKler; Matthew Morrissey

Shows the cover of An unquiet mind by Kay R. Jamison

Shows the cover of Hope by Marie Campion

Shows the cover of The cancer suvivor's companion by Frances Goodhart and Lucy Atkins

Shows the cover of Anorexia nervosa by Janet Treasure; June Alexander

Shows the cover of An introduction to coping with eating problems by Gillian Todd

Shows the cover of An introduction to coping with obsessive compulsive disorder by Lee Brosan

Shows the cover of Back to life, back to normality: volume 1 by Douglas Turkington et al.

Shows the cover of Back to life, back to normality: volume 2 by Douglas Turkington (Editor); Helen M. Spencer (Editor)

Shows the cover of Contraception today by John Guillebaud

Feel great lose weight by Dr Rangan Chatterjee

Shows the cover of Food for the fast lane by Derval O'Rourke

Shows the cover of Jamie's ministry of food by Jamie Oliver

Living beyond your pain by Joanne Dahl and Tobias Lundgren

Shows the cover of Livwise: easy recipes for a healthy, happy life by Olivia Newton-John

Shows the cover of Fast exercise by Michael Mosley with Bee Peta

Shows the cover of Getting better bit(e) by bit(e) by Ulrike Schmidt; Janet Treasure; June Alexander

Shows the cover of Living with bipolar disorder by Michael W. Otto

Shows the cover of Living with schizophrenia by Neel Burton

Shows the cover of Loving someone with bipolar disorder by Julie A. Fast and John Preston

Shows the cover of On eating by Susie Orbach

Shows the cover of Ready steady glow: fresh, fast foot designed for real life by Madeleine Shaw

Shows the cover of Outsmart your pain by Christiane Wolf; Foreword by Daniel J. Siegel

Shows the cover of The four pillar plan by Dr Rangan Chatterjee

Shows the cover of Rowing without oars by Ulla-Carin Lindquist; Margaret Myers (Translator)

Shows the cover of Overcoming binge eating by Christopher G. Fairburn

Shows the cover of Overcoming bulimia nervosa and binge-eating by Peter J. Cooper

Shows the cover of Optimum nutrition for the mind by Patrick Holford

Shows the cover of Overcoming chronic pain by Frances Cole; Helen Macdonald; Catherine Carus; Andrew McAleer (Editor)

Shows the cover of Overcoming obsessive compulsive disorder by David Veale

Shows the cover of Walking for fitness by Nina Barough

Shows the cover of The bipolar disorder survival guide by David J. Miklowitz

Shows the cover of Overcoming insomnia and sleep problems by Colin A. Espie

Shows the cover of The complete guide to walking by Mark Fenton

Shows the cover of The hungry student cookbook by Charlotte Pike

Shows the cover of Overcoming sexual problems by Vicki Ford

Shows the cover of Surviving schizophrenia by E. Fuller Torrey

Shows the cover of Overcoming obsessive thoughts by David A. Clark and Christine Purdon

Shows the cover of The c-word by Lisa Lynch

Shows the cover of The centre cannot hold by Elyn R. Saks

Shows the cover of The Happy Pear - Recipes for happiness by David and Stephen Flynn

Shows the cover of The effortless sleep companion by Sasha Stephens

Shows the cover of Anorexia nervosa - The wish to change by AH Crisp, N. Joughin, C. Halek and C. Bower

Shows the cover art for The Happy Pear by David and Stephen Flynn

Shows the cover art for The first episode of psychosis by Michael T. Compton; Beth Broussard

Shows the cover art for The yoga beginner's bible by Tai Morello

Shows the cover art for The sleep solution by W. Chris Winter

Shows the cover art for Sleep by Brenda O'Hanlon

Shows the cover art for The cancer survivors club by Chris Geiger

Shows the cover art for Tired but wired by Nerina Ramlakhan

Shows the cover art for Understanding obsessions and compulsions by Frank Tallis

Shows the cover art for Understanding your eating by Julia Buckroyd

Shows the cover art for Why we sleep by Matthew Walker

Shows the cover for Overcoming mood swings by Jan Scott

Shows the book cover of Managing intense emotions and overcoming self-destructive habits by Lorraine Bell

Shows the cover art for Body positive power by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Shows the cover art for Overcoming body image problems including body dysmorphic disorder by David Veale, Rob Willson and Alex Clarke

Health and Illness

The books in this section have been divided into the following categories: body positivity, eating, exercise, illness, sexual health and sleep.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Body positivity

Overcoming body image problems including body dysmorphic disorder by David Veale, Rob Willson and Alex Clarke
One per cent of the population will develop Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD). This is a condition that can be defined as thinking or worrying too much about something you believe is a physical defect. Body image problems can cause distress and can lead to further problems. These include anxiety, eating disorders and a fear of being watched and judged by others. Negative body image problems can be successfully treated with the techniques covered in this book.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Body positive power: How to stop dieting, make peace with your body and live by Megan Jayne Crabbe
Megan's body image issues began when she was five years old. She spent her childhood trying to be thin and at fourteen she develped anorexia. After recovery she spent years dieting, over-eating, losing and gaining weight. But then she found body positivity, stopped dieting, and finally escaped the obsession with being thin. Now she's determined to let as many people as possible know the truth: that we are all good enough as we are.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Body positive power: Because life is already happening and you don't need flat abs to live it by Megan Jayne Crabbe
For years, women have been convinced that true happiness only comes with being thin. We think that we will be happy when we hit that goal weight and change ourselves to fit an unrealistic idea of what beauty is. We've been taught to see our body as a problem that needs to be fixed. Megan Jayne Crabbe teaches that loving the body you have is the real way to be happy. Megan shares her own struggles with self-acceptance and her strategies to achieve to body positivity.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Eating

An introduction to coping with eating problems by Gillian Todd
Eating problems can have an extremely negative effect on sufferers as well as their friends and family. This self-help guide is written by a psychotherapist with a lot of experience of treating eating disorders. It will help you identify an eating disorder and develop strategies to help you take steps towards overcoming the disorder. This includes the use of specific therapeutic techniques and exercies. It also includes a chapter offering useful guidance for family members.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Hope: Understanding eating disorders by Marie Campion
Written by people who have experienced eating disorders, this guide aims to break down barriers of isolation and to show that there is hope of recovery. It also includes tips for surviving the day-to-day struggle of life, and help for the families and friends involved. Marie Campion is a specialist in finalising recovery from eating disorders and emotional distress and is a co-founder of the Marino Therapy Centre in Dublin, Ireland.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Anorexia nervosa: A recovery guide for sufferers, families and friends by Janet Treasure and June Alexander
This book offers guidance into the recovery process for those who suffer from an eating disorder. It also provides advice and information for their loved ones. It is written by an expert in the field and someone with personal experience of eating disorders. It offers a clear understanding of the issues surrounding the illness. It focuses on collaboration and has a layout that is easy to follow and read in any order. It is an essential resource for anyone affected, directly or indirectly, by anorexia nervosa.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Anorexia nervosa: The wish to change: Self-help and discovery: The thirty steps by A. H. Crisp, Neil Joughin, Christine Halek and Carol Bowyer
This guide has become highly valued by sufferers from anorexia nervosa, their families and their carers. Many sufferers report that 'Anorexia nervosa: The wish to change' has provided them with their first private chance to think about their position and future properly, and then to do more about them. Carers and practitioners have found it particularly helpful as a joint tool in their work with patients.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming binge eating: The proven program to learn why you binge and how you can stop by Christopher G. Fairburn
This book provides the information needed to understand binge eating and bring it under control. Clear guidelines show you how to overcome the urge to binge and gain control over what and when you eat. It will teach you how to stop strict dieting and other habits that may lead to binges. You'll learn how to create healthy eating patterns, improve your body image and reduce the risk of relapse. It features coverage of body image issues and strategies for achieving and maintaining a healthy relationship with food and your body.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming bulimia nervosa and binge-eating: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Peter J. Cooper
This guide to bulimia nervosa gives a clear explanation of the disorder and the serious health issues that can result from it. The author describes the treatments available today and sets out a self-help guide for those who want to tackle their difficulties for themselves. This is a real chance for sufferers to achieve recovery, and will give friends and family a clearer understanding of the illness and how to recover from it.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Getting better bit(e) by bit(e): A survival kit for sufferers of bulimia nervosa and binge eating disorders by Ulrike Schmidt, Janet Treasure and June Alexander
This book looks at the problems faced on a daily basis by bulimia sufferers. It provides detailed advice for dealing with the problem. This book concentrates on the important behaviour changes the sufferer needs to make to achieve a happier life. Theory is described along with practice and the book draws together real problems and solutions experienced by hundreds of sufferers.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
Understanding your eating: How to eat and not worry about it by Julia Buckroyd
Are you eating more than you should? Constantly dieting? Always anxious about your weight, shape and size? This book helps you to step back and discover what influences your eating habits. 'Understanding your eating' can help you if the way you use food worries you and you feel it is beyond your control. It will help you become more aware of your feelings towards food, understand your eating, and explore the reasons behind your challenges. This will help so you can find other ways of managing your day-to-day experiences.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
On eating: Change your eating change your life by Susie Orbach
For so many of us eating is associated with worrying and dieting. From the first page this little book shows us how to think and feel differently about what we eat. So that we eat when we are hungry, eat what we want to eat to satisfy us and stop when we are full. Each page contains a simple statement to change eating that hurts into eating that feeds and calms. This book isn't magic but it feels as if it is.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The four pillar plan: How to relax eat move sleep your way to a longer, healthier life by Rangan Chatterjee
In his Sunday Times bestselling book BBC One's Rangan Chatterjee creates a plan for taking control of your health and your life. He believes that everyday health follows four pillars: relaxation, food, movement and sleep. By making small, achievable changes in each of these areas you can create and maintain good health - and avoid illness.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Feel great lose weight: Long term, simple habits for lasting and sustainable weight loss by Rangan Chatterjee
It's more important than ever before that we get in shape, stay healthy and live well. Rangan Chatterjee has created a conscious, long-lasting approach to weight loss. This goes far beyond popular diets and helps to find the best solutions that work for you. Learn how to make long lasting lifestyle changes and become a more energised, confident and healthy you.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Food for the fast lane: Recipes to power your body and mind by Derval O'Rourke
Want to enjoy delicious food that feeds your body, gives you energy and powers your performance? Derval O’ Rourke, one of Ireland’s greatest athletes, likes to eat and train, not diet and exercise. She created a balanced training menu that gave her great energy and a better ability to focus. Here she reveals the recipes that helped her reach her professional goals.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The Happy Pear: Recipes and stories from the first ten years by David and Stephen Flynn
David and Stephen Flynn's first cookbook is full of great recipes for everyday breakfasts, lunches and dinners, wholesome cakes and sweet treats and special occasions. They also tell their story and share their top tips for creating taste and goodness in food. They explain how they've succeeded in building a food business based on flavour, health and community.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The Happy Pear: Recipes for happiness by David and Stephen Flynn
For nearly 15 years David and Stephen Flynn's have advised us to 'Eat more veg!' They have seen food fashions come and go and they know what works. This includes for themselves, their families and the thousands of people who eat the Happy Pear way. The twins behind the Happy Pear cafés and food business know it can be challenging to have a busy life and feel inspired. Recipes for Happiness is very close to their hearts and it is crammed with recipes to make you happier.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Jamie's ministry of food: Anyone can learn to cook in 24 hours by Jamie Oliver
If you're a complete beginner in the kitchen, Jamie Oliver's promise to you is that you'll be making some great dinners within hours of reading his book. Jamie shares tips and tricks for the ultimate curry, roast dinner and stir-fry along with many more of his favourite traditional recipes. If that wasn't enough, he also teaches you delicious meals that you can make in just 20 minutes.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Livwise: Easy recipes for a healthy, happy life by Olivia Newton-John
Oliva Newton-John’s recipes have been put together with the help of nutritionists and chefs from Gaia, the Australian health retreat she founded. The meals are imaginative, tasty, and very healthy. All these recipes contain healthy immune boosting ingredients. The guide also teaches the importance of eating a healthy, balanced diet along with regular exercise.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Ready steady glow: Fast, fresh food designed for real life by Madeleine Shaw
This book offers weekday recipes that can be made in less than 30 minutes, alongside more complex and delicious meals for the weekend. All recipes are wheat- and sugar-free and are bursting with flavour and nutritional value. They contain natural ingredients that can be found in your local supermarket. You'll be feasting on food that tastes so good you'll forget the things you're cutting out.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The hungry student cookbook by Charlotte Pike
This cookbook will take you from freshers' week to graduation, all on a small budget. It covers simple dinners, quick lunches, exam food or meals to impress housemates. These easy-to-follow recipes are designed for students and include homemade curries, lasagne and fajitas, delicious soups, jacket potatoes and homemade dips.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Optimum nutrition for the mind by Patrick Holford
This guide will improve your mood, boost your memory and sharpen your mind. It may also solve your mental health problems - all through nutrition. The book describes discoveries on how the right food can improve depression and anxiety. It discusses the effects of stress, alcohol and exercise on mental health. It gives details of new discoveries in the treatment of autism and schizophrenia and provides guidance for those with mental health difficulties.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Exercise

Fast exercise by Michael Mosley with Bee Peta
In 'Fast exercise', Michael Mosley teams up with health journalist Peta Bee to challenge common exercise myths. They offer practical advice and workouts that take just a few minutes a day and can be done any time, anywhere. This book will suit those who don't enjoy exercise but want to lose fat and stay healthy. Also those who love exercise and want to enhance their performance, and those who just want to understand the science behind it all.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The complete guide to walking: For health, weight loss, and fitness by Mark Fenton
Every journey starts with a single step. That single step is all that's needed to start you on your way to a healthier, longer, and more energetic life. This book shows how walking can help you to avoid or control diabetes, teach families to exercise together and enjoy important health benefits. It will show you how using new technology can help you to get fit faster and more safely. Full of realistic solutions, with motivational and enjoyable exercises, this is the ideal book for readers who want to look good and get fit naturally.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Walking for fitness: The low-impact workout that tones and shapes by Nina Barough
Keep fit, tone-up and lose weight - walking is the perfect way to achieve great health. Power-walking expert Nina Barough reveals there is a huge difference between a stroll and an energising power walk. Barough explains how this type of exercise can be done by anyone, anywhere at anytime and her walking programme will help you achieve health, energy and weight-loss.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The yoga beginner's bible: Top 30 illustrated poses for weight loss, stress relief and inner peace by Tai Morello
This book will help you start a journey that will take you back to the peace, joy and happiness you were born to enjoy. Yoga is easy to learn if you have the right approach and the benefits are only a few minutes away. Studies have shown that yoga can reduce tension, anxiety, depression, anger, hostility, and fatigue. This book will tell you everything you need to know about yoga so that you can get started right away!
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Illness

Living with bipolar disorder: A guide for individuals and families by Michael W. Otto
This book takes a family-and-friends approach to managing the challenges experienced with bipolar disorder. Readers will learn how to recognise mood shifts before they happen and minimise their impact. Family members will learn how to recognise potential problems, provide encouragement and understand what a loved one is going through. 'Living with bipolar disorder' offers effective strategies to reduce the likelihood of episodes of depression or mania and maximise the enjoyment of life.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The bipolar disorder survival guide: What you and your family need to know by David J. Miklowitz
This book will teach you strategies for managing your illness or supporting a loved one with bipolar disorder. Learn steps to cope with mood episodes, reduce relapses and get the most out of treatment. It will also show you how to resolve family conflicts and make lifestyle changes to stay well. The book includes a chapter on kids and teens; the latest facts on medications and therapy and covers the bipolar II subtype. It features boxes on lesser-known and alternative treatments and provides downloadable practical tools.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Loving someone with bipolar disorder: Understanding and helping your partner by Julie A. Fast and John Preston
This book discusses all aspects of readers' relationships with bipolar partners. These include work, money, sex, medications and their side effects, therapeutic treatments, and more. Readers will learn how their partners may be affected by medication and what side effects they can expect. They will discover how to communicate better with their partners and manage their own emotional responses to partners' mood swings. They will also learn how to deal with problems relating to work, money, and sex.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Overcoming mood swings: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Jan Scott
For some people, emotional extremes can seriously affect their lives. This is because they happen too frequently or because the mood swings are intense and include depression or mania. This book is a self-help manual for those who have experienced mood swings and gives background information on depression and mania. The author uses tried and tested practical techniques that will help people identify and manage their mood more effectively, and achieve a better emotional state.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
An unquiet mind: A memoir of moods and madness by Kay R. Jamison
This is an honest memoir that shows the challenges faced by people that suffer from bipolar disorder. Kay Redfield Jamison herself experienced the highs of euphoria mixed with the lows of depression. Her professional success as a clinical psychologist and her honest story helps to reduce the stigma of this serious mental illness that affects many.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Managing intense emotions and overcoming self-destructive habits: A self-help manual by Lorraine Bell
This is a self-help manual for people who meet the diagnosis of 'emotionally unstable' or 'borderline personality disorder' (BPD). It outlines a model of treatment known to be effective for other conditions, such as anxiety, depression and bulimia. The manual describes the problem areas, the skills needed to overcome them and how these skills can be developed. It is designed to be used with the help of professional mental health staff.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The cancer suvivor's companion: Practical ways to cope with your feelings after cancer by Frances Goodhart and Lucy Atkins
With reassurance and understanding, Dr Frances Goodhart and Lucy Atkins help readers deal with the emotional effects of cancer. This is whether it's days, months or years since the treatment ended. Drawing on Dr Goodhart's experience working in the NHS with cancer survivors, this guide is packed with practical and simple self-help tools. These will help readers to tackle issues such as worry and anxiety, depression and low mood, anger, low self-esteem and body image. It will also help them with relationships and sex, tiredness, sleep and relaxation.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The cancer survivors club by Chris Geiger
This book brings together first-hand accounts of ordinary people who have beaten cancer. In these honest and personal stories, they write about the most difficult times in their lives. They tell us how they found a strength and determination that they never knew they possessed. They speak of the support they received from their families, friends, doctors and nurses – something which is so important. This unique and inspiring collection offers hope, strength and encouragement to cancer patients around the world.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The c-word by Lisa Lynch
This is an honest and humorous account of Lisa Lynch's experience of being diagnosed with breast cancer. It draws from her blogs about the frustrating, life-altering inconvenience of battling breast cancer at the age of 28. She describes the good days when she could almost pretend it wasn't happening, to the bad days, when she couldn't bear to wake up. Her story is emotional, heartbreaking and often hilarious. This book will make you laugh and cry, and reawaken your faith in life.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Rowing without oars by Ulla-Carin Lindquist; Margaret Myers (Translator)
Ulla-Carin Lindquist was happily married, with four adoring children and a successful career as a newscaster. All of that changed when her fiftieth birthday drew near, and she was diagnosed with ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. In the face of this incurable disease, Ulla kept a journal recording the last years of her life. She did this to help her cope with her death. Powerful and moving, Ulla’s account is an unforgettable reminder of how precious life really is.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Rowing without oars by Ulla-Carin Lindquist
Ulla-Carin Lindquist was happily married, with four adoring children and a successful career as a newscaster. All of that changed when her fiftieth birthday drew near, and she was diagnosed with ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. In the face of this incurable disease, Ulla kept a journal recording the last years of her life. She did this to help her cope with her death. Powerful and moving, Ulla’s account is an unforgettable reminder of how precious life really is.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming obsessive thoughts: How to gain control of your OCD by Christine Purdon and David A. Clark
People with OCD can present a wide range of symptoms. This book addresses the needs of those who struggle with aggressive, religious, or sexual thoughts. The goal of this book is to help people recognise that thoughts, in themselves, are not threatening, dangerous, or harmful. Rather, it is the compulsive strategies they develop for coping that make the thoughts seem so harmful. The book offers safe and effective exercises readers can use to limit the effect obsessive thoughts have on their lives.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
An introduction to coping with obsessive compulsive disorder by Lee Brosan
This introductory booklet explains what OCD is and how it makes you feel. It will help the reader to understand their symptoms and is ideal as an immediate coping strategy and as a way to prepare for fuller therapy. The book covers the different forms of OCD, how it develops and what keeps it going. It presents case studies, the roles that your compulsions and thoughts play and different kinds of treatment.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming obsessive compulsive disorder by David Veale and Rob Wilson
Obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) causes distress to hundreds of thousands of people. This book uncovers successful treatment methods based on real clinical practice and therapeutic techniques. This book will teach you how to face fears and cope with stressful situations and how to control disturbing thoughts, images and urges. It will also teach you strategies to break free from obsessive behaviour completely. Put an end to unhelpful rituals and take control of your life.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Understanding obsessions and compulsions: A self-help manual by Frank Tallis
This guide is by the author of the best selling book 'How to stop worrying.' People suffering from some degree of obsessive compulsive disorder may be embarrassed by their symptoms and not present themselves for treatment. This book attempts to provide a guide to self-help, explaining the principles of reducing anxiety, giving treatment instructions in easy-to-understand language. It covers compulsive checking, washing, hoarding, obsessional thoughts and worry, obsessional personality and depression.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
A way out of madness: Dealing with your family after you've been diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder by Daniel MacKler and Matthew Morrissey
Family conflict can cause upset for people diagnosed with psychiatric disorders. This book offers guidance in how to fix family conflict and take control of your life. It includes personal accounts of family healing by people who were themselves psychiatrically diagnosed. This book is aimed mainly at young people in their late teens or twenties who have suffered a mental health breakdown.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The first episode of psychosis: A guide for patients and their families by Michael T. Compton and Beth Broussard
This is the ideal book for patients experiencing their first episode of psychosis. This often happens during the later teenage years or in early adulthood. It covers a range of disorders, clearly describing symptoms, early warning signs, and treatment. The book also discusses support, healthy lifestyle choices and the negative ways people think about mental illnesses. This guide is optimistic, practical, and focused on recovery. It will help patients and their families to move towards recovery together.
Available as an EBOOK and located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Back to life, back to normality: Volume 2: CBT-informed recovery for families with relatives with schizophrenia and other psychoses by Douglas Turkington (Editor); Helen M. Spencer (Editor)
This book describes the symptoms and problems of those suffering from psychotic disorders. It discusses how relatives can listen, interact and show their support. Individuals without psychiatric training can learn and use the techniques in the book to help provide support to their loved ones. These are described and illustrated with examples throughout this book.
Available as an EBOOK
Back to life, back to normality: Volume 1: Cognitive therapy, recovery and psychosis by Douglas Turkington et al.
This book will help sufferers and carers to understand how to use therapy for psychosis. It shows what it is like to have common psychosis and how people's lives can be restored using therapy. It increases understanding of how the psychosis started and the factors that worsen symptoms. It will help the sufferer to learn how to control symptoms and delay or prevent relapse and helps carers know what to say and what to do.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Living with schizophrenia by Neel Burton
There is a perception that schizophrenia is both uncommon and impossible to treat. In fact, it affects about 650,000 people in the UK, 2.2 million in the US, and some 50 million globally. Symptoms include visual and auditory hallucinations and acute paranoia, which may leave sufferers withdrawn or frightening to others. However, the treatment success rate with medication and therapy can be high. This book aims to address the needs of people with schizophrenia and their carers, relatives, and friends.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Surviving schizophrenia by E. Fuller Torrey
In clear language this book describes the nature, causes, symptoms and treatment of schizophrenia. It explores living with it from both the patient's and the family's point of view. It includes the latest research findings on what causes the illness, as well as information about the newest drugs for treatment. It also answers the questions most often asked by families and carers. ‘Surviving schizophrenia’ covers every aspect of the condition and sheds new light on an often-misunderstood illness.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The centre cannot hold: A memoir of my schizophrenia by Elyn R. Saks
Saks gives a surprising and honest account of how she learned to live with schizophrenia. She clearly and coolly talks about her condition, the stigma attached and the numbing effects of medication. Her story is interrupted by contributions from the part of her mind she has learned to suppress. Delusions, hallucinations and threatening voices cut into her reality and she helps us to hear and see them too. This is a powerful book that is as informative as it is moving.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Outsmart your pain: Mindfulness and self-compassion to help you leave chronic pain behind by Christiane Wolf; Foreword by Daniel J. Siegel
This guide shows you how to relieve chronic pain with mindfulness. The book includes meditations and self-compassion practices which will help you experience your pain in a different way. It teaches you how to work through negative emotions and strengthen your support systems. By separating your pain from the stressful thoughts and troubled feelings that come with it, you can live with joy.
Available as an EBOOK
Living beyond your pain: Using acceptance and commitment therapy to ease chronic pain by Joanne Dahl and Tobias Lundgren
Based on proven therapies, this book moves away from accepted ideas about pain management. It helps you recognise pain as an event in your life that doesn't need to interfere with the way you live. By accepting and learning to live with pain, you can limit the control it has over your life. You can then make choices that will lead you to the life you've always wanted.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming chronic pain: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioural techniques by Frances Cole, Helen Macdonald and Catherine Carus; Edited by Andrew McAleer
Chronic pain can be extremely hard to live with - however, it does not need to rule your life. This book is based on effective self-help methods developed by specialists and used in community and hospital pain management programmes. Your experience of pain can be greatly reduced by daily activities, reducing stress, learning relaxation techniques and effective ways to cope with depression, anxiety, worry, anger and frustration.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Sexual health

Contraception today by John Guillebaud
This bestselling handbook summarises the methods of contraception currently available. Incorporating national guidance documents, Professor Guillebaud describes best practice and guides clinical judgement in real-world situations. The easy-to-read format includes bulleted text and colour summary boxes that present information at a glance. 'Contraception today' is the ideal guide to contraceptive advice for general practitioners and practice nurses.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming sexual problems: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioural techniques by Vicki Ford
Experienced therapist and couples counsellor Vicki Ford provides a guide to understanding the sexual problems that many people face from time to time. Her simple self-help techniques are based on effective therapeutic research. It includes practical exercise programs to help develop an understanding of your body. Suitable for both singles and couples, this expert guide will help you to overcome negative thinking and restore your confidence and your sex life. Use clinically proven techniques to treat challenging conditions, both psychological and physical.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Sleep

The sleep solution: Why your sleep is broken and how to fix it by W. Chris Winter
This book will help you to understand how sleep works. It describes the ways in which food, light, and other activities affect sleep. Learn why sleeping pills are so often used incorrectly and how you can achieve your best sleep without them. Learn how to sleep and nap and understand ways to treat many sleep conditions. These include insomnia, sleep apnea and circadian sleep disorders. This book will help you to understand the value of using technology to help you sleep also.
Available as an EBOOK
Overcoming insomnia and sleep problems: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Colin A. Espie
This book contains all the help you need to fix your sleep problems and start living life to the full. Poor sleep is one of the most common health problems and can leave you feeling exhausted, stressed and run down. The book covers effective therapeutic techniques that help to alleviate insomnia. Learn how to develop good bedtime routines and establish a new sleeping and waking pattern. Discover the most effective relaxation techniques and learn how to deal with jet lag and sleepwalking.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The effortless sleep companion: From chronic insomnia to the best sleep of your life by Sasha Stephens
This book will teach you all you ever wanted to know about chronic insomnia and how to beat it, permanently. By following the author’s methods, you will be able to return to the life and sleep you have been craving. This book will show you how to become a great sleeper. The author experienced fifteen years of insomnia followed by years as a sleep therapist. These have left her with a clear understanding of how to cure insomnia.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Tired but wired: The essential sleep toolkit: How to overcome sleep problems by Nerina Ramlakhan
In 'Tired but wired' the author leads you through practical steps to improve your sleep patterns. The book shows you how to change your lifestyle to find better quality sleep, more energy and inner balance. This book describes the science behind sleep and how to find your natural sleep rhythms. It provides the sleep toolkit programme that anyone can use, adjusting it for their own lifestyle, needs and personality. This provides all the essential habits and routines you need for brilliant sleep.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Why we sleep: The new science of sleep and dreams by Matthew Walker
Sleep is one of the most important parts of our life, health and ageing process. Yet it is not considered properly in 21st century society, with negative consequences. Every major disease in the developed world - Alzheimer's, cancer, obesity, diabetes - has very strong links to lack of sleep. In this book Professor Matthew Walker explores 20 years of cutting-edge research to solve the mystery of why sleep matters. His research will change the way you think about sleep completely.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Sleep: The commonsense approach by Brenda O'Hanlon
Difficulty with sleeping is one of the most common complaints that people make to their GP. In this well-researched handbook, Brenda O'Hanlon gives a clear explanation of sleep, how much we actually need, and of common sleep disorders. She gives practical advice on how to get a better night's sleep, what help is available, and discusses the benefits of various different therapies. This book is packed with sensible guidance and information, and also includes lists of useful addresses and further reading. It is a must for anyone who finds that a good night's sleep is hard to come by.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this video Megan Jayne Crabbe author of 'Body positive power' talks about body positivity, eating disorder recovery, mental health and feminism. (04:57)

In this Ted talk, Tricia Nelson describes how she lost weight by healing her emotional relationship with food. (14:14)

Watch this video to understand the difference between eating disorders and disordered eating. (07:58)

In this short video Michael Mosley, author of 'Fast Exercise' explains how you can start to get fitter within just 60 seconds with high intensity exercises. (4:24)

Learn about the positive effects of regular exercise and why it's worth the effort to lead an active lifestyle.(04:18)

David and Stephen Flynn, owners of the Happy Pear, share their top five tips for healthy eating.(02:49)

In this TED talk Diane Thomas talks about the strategies you can use to support your friends or family through cancer. (16:51)

Ali Mattu explains obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) and what can be done to treat it. (08:46)

This video provides information on psychosis and available resources to help. (06:41)

Watch this video to learn more about bipolar disorder: the symptoms, types, causes, diagnosis, and associated treatments. (07:48)

In this video Matthew Walker, author of 'Why we sleep' talks about the importance of consistently getting a good night's sleep. (08:24)

In this video Dr Nerina Ramlakhan shares five ways you can get better sleep. (02:14)

This animated video summaries Andrew Walker's book 'Why we sleep,' explaining why sleep is so important and how you can improve your sleep habits. (08:32)