LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Addiction

At a glance - books relating to addiction

Understanding and Treating Sex and Pornography Addiction by Paula Hall

Controlling your drinking by William R. Miller and Ricardo F. Muñoz

In the realm of hungry ghosts by Gabor Maté

Sex addiction: The partner's perspective by Paula Hall

7 tools to beat addiction by Stanton Peele

Adult children of alcoholics by Janet G. Woititz

Recovery: A guide for adult children of alcoholics by Herbert L. Gravitz; Julie D. Bowden

Sex, drugs, gambling, and chocolate by A. Thomas Horvath

Freedom from addiction: The secret behind successful addiction busting by Joe Griffin and Ivan Tyrrell

An introduction to sensible drinking by Marcantonio Spada

Overcoming problem drinking by Marcantonio Spada

Addiction

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: Addiction, alcohol, and sex.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Addiction

The craving mind: From cigarettes to smartphones to love - why we get hooked and how we can break bad habits by Judson Brewer
This book provides answers to the most important questions about addiction. Dr. Judson Brewer is a psychiatrist and neuroscientist who has studied the science of addiction for twenty years. In this book he shows you understanding the processes that encourage addictive behaviours can help you stop them. Using his patients' stories, mindfulness practice and scientific findings, he offers a way you can move beyond your cravings. This will reduce your stress and allow you to live a fuller life.
Available as an EBOOK
7 tools to beat addiction by Stanton Peele
Do you have an addiction to drugs, nicotine, alcohol, food, shopping, sex, or gambling? This practical guide will help you overcome addiction of any kind. This book takes Peele's ideas and transforms them into a practical workbook to help recovering addicts and those who want to end an addiction. The recovery process is supported with helpful exercises found at the end of every chapter.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Freedom from addiction: The secret behind successful addiction busting by Joe Griffin and Ivan Tyrrell
Do you want to end your own addictive behaviour? Or do you want to help others end theirs? This book gives the clear guidance and practical steps you need to do so. The case histories described show you how others have successfully stopped the behaviours that were harming them. The new ideas it contains have already helped countless people to overcome a wide range of negative behaviours and take back control of their lives.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Sex, drugs, gambling, and chocolate: A workbook for overcoming addictions by Arthur T. Horvath
You can reduce almost any type of addictive behavior, from drinking to sex, eating, and internet use, with this practical and effective workbook. Supported by scientific research, Dr. Horvath approaches addiction as a bad habit, not a disease. Horvath teaches general principles of addictive behaviour change, so readers can apply them as often as they need. He teaches the consequences of addictive behavior, alternative coping methods, choice, understanding and dealing with urges.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The addiction workbook: A step-by-step guide to quitting alcohol and drugs by Patrick Fanning and John O'Neill
If you're thinking about quitting alcohol or drugs, this workbook will start you on your journey by explaining the facts about addiction. It shows you how to figure out if you have a problem and helps you to reach a decision to quit. Exercises and tips help you gather support, deal with withdrawal symptoms, improve nutrition and exercise. Discover how to cope with feelings of depression, anxiety, and anger without drugs or alcohol. Finally it will help you make lasting lifestyle changes that will help end your addictions for good.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
In the realm of hungry ghosts: Close encounters with addiction by Gabor Maté
Dr Gabor Maté draws on two decades of his own studies of addiction in this book. He simplifies a wide range of brain and addiction research findings from around the world. He also promotes self-understanding as the first key to healing and wellness. He argues against current health, social, and criminal justice policies toward addiction and those affected by it. The book mixes personal stories and scientific research in a way that will inspire readers who are looking for positive solutions.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Alcohol

Controlling your drinking: Tools to make moderation work for you by William R. Miller and Ricardo F. Muñoz
Would you like to reduce your drinking without giving it up altogether? William R. Miller and Ricardo F. Muñoz have spent more than 40 years studying whether drinking sensibly works and how to achieve it. They give you tools to examine your alcohol consumption, decide what changes you want to make, and create a plan to achieve those changes. Learn new ways to enjoy social events, reduce tension and stress and cope with difficult emotions.
Available as an EBOOK and located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Overcoming problem drinking: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Marcantonio Spada
This book is aimed at people who would like to reduce their drinking. It uses reliable methods to help you to recognise problems with your drinking. It then uses effective techniques to show you how to change your behaviour and gain control of how much alcohol you drink. This is a valuable guide for anyone who feels the amount they drink is a problem. It combines the knowledge of psychologists and those working in the medical profession. It also shows you how to get the support of friends and family.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Adult children of alcoholics by Janet G. Woititz
In this book the author looks at adult children who came from families with alcoholic parents. This book will help the reader understand the effects this had on them and how to work towards freeing themselves from these negative effects. She shares the recovery hints that she has found to work. Read 'Adult children of alcoholics' to see where the journey began and for ideas on where to go from here.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
An introduction to sensible drinking by Marcantonio Spada
If you regularly drink more than is sensible you may find that it negatively effects your health, emotional wellbeing, relationships and your ability to work. There are many reasons why we drink and this self-help guide uses proven techniques to help you to work out your own reasons. From there you can start taking control of your alcohol use. It is ideal for anyone who fears that alcohol is starting to get out of control.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Recovery: A guide for adult children of alcoholics by Herbert L. Gravitz; Julie D. Bowden
This book explores the secrets, fears, hopes and issues that face adult children of alcoholics. Authors Herbert Gravitz and Julie Bowden look at the challenges of control and feelings of inadequacy that children of alcholics experience. If you feel troubled by your past, this book will start you on the path of self-awareness and it will inspire you to meet the challenges of the past and overcome the obstacles to your happiness.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Sex

Understanding and treating sex and pornography addiction: A comprehensive guide for people who struggle with sex addiction and those who want to help them by Paula Hall
This book demonstrates why people’s lives are being destroyed by their sexual behaviour and what we can do to help them. It examines the latest research into these conditions and outlines effective recovery methods that will help people enjoy a lifetime recovery. Written in a clear and informative manner, this book contains support and advice for those who suffer from sex addiction, and provides the tools for achieving recovery.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Sex addiction: The partner's perspective by Paula Hall
This book has been written to help those whose partners are sex addicts. It will help them make decisions about their relationships and their lives. It is a practical book with exercises that will give partners a sense of stability and control. It includes real life examples and survey results revealing the reality of life for partners of sex addicts. This book has been written to help partners survive, grow stronger and move on with their lives - alone, or in their relationship. It will be a valuable guide for partners on their journey of recovery.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Watch this short video to understand how addiction starts and how to prevent it. (06:46)

Judson Brewer, author of 'The craving mind' talks about why bad habits form and how we can beat them (09:15)