LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Trauma

At a glance - books relating to trauma

Shows the cover art for 8 keys to safe trauma recovery by Babette Rothschild

Shows the cover art for Allies in healing by Laura Davis

Shows the cover art for An introduction to coping with post-traumatic stress by Ann Wetmore

Shows the cover art for Overcoming childhood trauma by Helen Kennerley

Shows the cover art for Anchored by Deborah A. Dana

Shows the cover art for Breaking free by Carolyn Ainscough and Kay Toon

Shows the cover art for Complex PTSD by Pete Walker

Shows the cover art for Getting through the day by Nancy J. Napier

Shows the cover art for Healing the child within by Charles L. Whitfield

Shows the cover art for Healing trauma by Peter A. Levine

Shows the cover art for Invisible heroes by Belleruth Naparstek

Shows the cover art for It didn't start with you by Mark Wolynn

Shows the cover art for Outgrowing the pain by Eliana M. Gil

Shows the cover art for Overcoming traumatic stress by Claudia Herbert and Ann Wetmore

Shows the cover art for Surviving childhood sexual abuse workbook by Carolyn Ainscough and Kay Toon

Shows the cover art for The compassionate mind approach to recovering from trauma by Deborah Lee with Sophie James

Shows the cover art for The courage to heal by Ellen Bass & Laura Davis

Shows the cover art for The drama of being a child by Ruth Ward

Shows the cover art for The gift by Edith Eger

Shows the cover art for The rape recovery handbook by Aphrodite Matsakis

Shows the cover art for What happened to you? by Bruce D. Perry; Oprah Winfrey

Shows the cover art for What my bones know by Stephanie Foo

Victims no longer: A guide for men recovering from sexual child abuse by Mike Lew

Shows the cover art for Ghosts in the Bedroom by Ken Graber

The body keeps the score by Bessel van der Kolk

Trauma

This section has been divided into the following categories: childhood trauma, generational trauma, sexual assault and trauma healing.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Childhood Trauma

Getting through the day: Strategies for adults hurt as children by Nancy J. Napier
This book is for adults who experienced trauma as children. It shows them how to face life's challenges in a new way. It looks at the effects of dissociation, where someone feels disconnected from themselves and the world around them. The book provides advice for people with dissociative identity disorder (DID). This is a mental health condition which causes people to exhibit multiple personalities. The book includes exercises to help anyone who feels that unresolved childhood emotions are affecting them.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The courage to heal: A guide for women survivors of child sexual abuse by Ellen Bass and Laura Davis
"The Courage to Heal" is a guide that provides hope to women who were sexually abused as children. It will also support those who care about them with clear explanations and practical suggestions. The effects of child sexual abuse can be severe and last a long time but this guide shows that healing is possible. The book uses the authors’ personal experience and their professional knowledge to support readers through the healing process.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The drama of being a child by Alice Miller
Repression occurs where memories and thoughts that cause distress are hidden away by the mind. Alice Miller explores the effects of repression at both personal and social levels. She examines the reasons for the physical and psychological harm done to children. She then teaches methods that will prevent the harm from taking place. The book also presents new ways of dealing with the effects of early childhood traumas.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Overcoming childhood trauma: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Helen Kennerly
This book will help you to understand how past trauma can affect your present life. It teaches you methods that will help you to deal with the issues the experience has caused. You will learn how to manage unwelcome memories and mood swings and improve your adult relationships.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Breaking free: Help for survivors of child sexual abuse by Carolyn Ainscough and Kay Toon
This manual is designed to help survivors of child sexual abuse. It looks at all the effects of child sexual abuse, which often last into adult life. These include guilt and shame, depression and anxiety, eating disorders, fear of relationships and sexual problems. It includes discussions about false memories and female abusers and includes the accounts of survivors. The book offers a positive and optimistic way to help survivors move on from their pasts.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Healing the child within: Discovery and recovery for adult children of dysfunctional families by Charles Whitfield
In this book, Charles Whitfield explains how childhood trauma can harm the 'true self,’ or the ‘child within.’ He shows readers how to separate your ‘true self’ out from your ‘false self.’ The book also looks at the important issues around recovery. This book has remained a strong support for those who want to recover from the painful effects of childhood trauma. It is recommended by both therapists and survivors of trauma.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Outgrowing the pain: A book for and about adults abused as children by Eliana Gil
To recover from the effects of trauma you need to view the events you experienced differently. This will allow you to change your reactions to that trauma. This book shows you how to find new, effective ways of coping with traumatic stress. The practical advice and tested exercises in this book will help you to move beyond your trauma and to finally overcome it.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Surviving childhood sexual abuse workbook: Practical exercises for working on problems resulting from childhood abuse by Carolyn Ainscough and Kay Toon
The 'Surviving childhood sexual abuse workbook' guides men and women who have experienced childhood sexual abuse. It includes exercises, charts, and checklists that will help survivors to recognise, understand and heal their trauma.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Ghosts in the bedroom: A guide for partners of incest survivors by Ken Graber
Incest or sexual abuse can damage or destroy relationships. The information in this book will help to keep a relationship strong through the recovery process. Graber draws from personal experience to show how partners can accept responsibility for their own issues. He shows them how to support the recovery of the incest or sexual abuse survivor and work toward solving relationship problems together.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Allies in healing: When the person you love was sexually abused as a child by Laura Davis
This book is based on interviews done by Laura Davis. It also draws on real-life stories from her workshops for the partners of sexual abuse survivors. She offers practical advice and encouragement to all partners trying to support the survivors in their lives. It also shows partners how to take care of themselves while they offer support. She shows couples how to improve communication and how to achieve recovery by working together.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Complex PTSD: From surviving to thriving: A guide and map for recovering from childhood trauma by Pete Walker
This practical guide is designed to help readers recover from the effects of childhood trauma. The book includes examples of the author's journey to recovery as well as those of his clients. It offers tools and techniques for those want to heal from their trauma. It also explains the recovery process and provides ways to help you understand and support loved ones who are rebuilding their lives.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Victims no longer: Men recovering from incest and other child sexual abuse by Mike Lew
Mike Lew has helped many people heal from the harm caused by sexual abuse, violence, and neglect during childhood. As a therapist, he has focused on helping men recover from incest and other abuses. This book teaches survivors how to recover and deals with the hurt, needs, fears, and hopes of men who were abused when they were children.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Generational trauma

What my bones know: A memoir of healing from complex trauma by Stephanie Foo
Foo talks to scientists and psychologists and tries out several new therapies aimed at healing trauma. She goes back to her hometown in California to study how trauma affects immigrants in the community. She discovers family secrets that took place in Malaysia, the country where she was born. Through these family stories she learns how trauma can be passed down through generations.
Available as an EBOOK
It didn't start with you: How inherited family trauma shapes who we are and how to end the cycle by Mark Wolynn
'It didn't start with you' is a book that provides a practical guide to the Core Language Approach. This approach looks closely at the language people use to explore a trauma they have experienced. It can help solve difficulties that have existed for a long time. These are issues that can’t be fixed with traditional therapy, drugs, or other methods. This approach can help you to make your life better in important ways.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Sexual assault

The rape recovery handbook: Step-by-step help for survivors of sexual assault by Aphrodite T. Matsakis
This book can help survivors of sexual assault to understand and deal with the emotional pain their experience causes. The author of the book, Aphrodite Matsakis is an expert on trauma. She understands that the effects of sexual assault include distressing emotions that can limit a person's movements, senses, or activities. She provides a step-by-step guide on how to cope with these effects.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
I never called it rape: The Ms. report on recognizing, fighting, and surviving date and acquaintance rape by Robin Warshaw
This is a classic book that focused on the problem of date and acquaintance rape. 'I Never Called It Rape' was a hugely influential book when it was first published in 1988. It helped to change the way that rape and sexual assault are viewed. It started a discussion about the fact that reports by rape survivors revealed that attacks were being carried out by people they knew.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Trauma healing

The compassionate mind approach to recovering from trauma: Using compassion focused therapy by Deborah Lee and Sophie James
'The compassionate mind approach to recovering from trauma' uses new therapeutic methods to help you understanding how we react to trauma. This book will also teach you how to deal with feelings of shame you may have as well as with any other difficulties caused by your trauma.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Anchored: How to befriend your nervous system using polyvagal theory by Deborah Dana
In 'Anchored', expert teacher Deb Dana discusses ‘Polyvagal Theory.’ This theory teaches that the healthy or unhealthy state of our nervous system affects how we feel every day. Dana teaches practical ways you can change your relationship with your body. She helps you understand your nervous system better. She uses techniques including meditation and other guided relaxation methods. This book is a guide that will move you from a place of fear and panic into a space of balance and confidence.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Healing trauma: A pioneering program for restoring the wisdom of your body by Peter A. Levine
Dr. Levine’s guide explains how you can heal your trauma using a successful theory he developed. This book will help you discover how to become more aware of your body as a way to heal traumas. This can be done by remembering the traumas in a safe way, rather than ‘re-living’ them. It will teach you methods you can use when you are distressed and help you fully understand your emotions.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming traumatic stress: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Claudia Herbert and Ann Wetmore
When we experience very dangerous situations, our mind and body try to deal with them. This can cause traumatic stress. Traumatic stress can happen to anyone and it is not a sign of weakness. To get better, we need to change how we react to the events and see them differently. This book shows you how to deal with and recover from traumatic stress. It's a guide that helps people who have experienced specific traumas to heal and recover.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
What happened to you?: Conversations on trauma, resilience and healing by Bruce D. Perry and Oprah Winfrey
Oprah Winfrey and Dr. Perry explore what happens to us in early childhood. They look at how both good and bad experiences turn us into the people we become. The book draws on scientific research and real-life stories to show us how to recover from negative childhood experiences. It teaches a positive lesson about our amazing ability to grow and learn from life’s challenges.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
An introduction to coping with post-traumatic stress by Ann Wetmore
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder is a common psychological condition. It happens as a result of a trauma, which makes it difficult or impossible for a person to cope. This guide will help you to change your reaction to the trauma. It will also support you as you find new, effective ways of coping with and overcoming traumatic stress. This practical booklet is also an ideal support for health professionals and carers.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The body keeps the score: Mind, brain and body in the transformation of trauma by Bessel van der Kolk
The effects of trauma can be harmful for those who suffer and for their families. It can also have an effect on future generations. In this book the author looks at a new way to treat trauma. He advises us to move away from traditional treatments like talking therapy or medication. Instead he shows us how to cure trauma using new methods that focus on the mind, brain and body.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
8 keys to safe trauma recovery: Take-charge strategies to empower your healing by Babette Rothschild
Recovering from trauma can be difficult. However, there are methods that can make it safe and effective. This book teaches readers how to identify their own needs and understand if they're being met. With the tools provided, readers can take control of their own recovery and make sure they're moving in a safe direction.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Heartwounds: The role of unresolved grief and trauma in relationships by Tian Dayton
Sometimes we carry grief that we haven’t dealt with fully and past traumas around with us. We do this without realising how they affect our lives. Sometimes people use intimacy in a relationship to re-live old pain. However, it can also be used as a way to heal and move forward. In this book, Tian Dayton teaches you how to use intimacy to heal, grow and change. The book includes real-life stories and exercises that can help readers to recover.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Invisible heroes: Survivors of trauma and how they heal by Belleruth Naparstek
In this book Belleruth Naparstek draws on her experience as a therapist and on the most recent cutting-edge research. She teaches a programme for recovery using guided imagery. This is a method of relaxation which focuses the mind on positive images to reduce pain and stress. She explains that guided imagery works on the right side of the brain. This in turn affects the nervous system which can help to reduce suffering.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The gift: A survivor's journey to freedom by Edith Eger
In this practical guide Dr Eger teaches us how to let go of the negative thoughts and behaviours that limit us. In the book, she describes her own experiences and those of her patients. Through these real-life stories she shows us how to learn from difficult situations. She takes us through how these moments can be used to help us face any challenge bravely. Her lessons help us find freedom and the strength inside ourselves.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Bessel van der Kolk, author of the best-selling book 'The Body Keeps the Score' defines trauma and discusses how trauma isn’t what happens to you, but how you respond to the traumatic situation. (07:48)

This video gives a basic introduction to and overview of how trauma and chronic stress affect our nervous system and how those effects impact our health and well-being. (08:57)

In this video, Tori Olds discusses how Internal Family Systems Therapy (IFS) can help heal trauma and free those experiencing trauma from "emotional flashbacks." (20:29)

In this Ted Talk Eva Eger, author of 'The gift,' talks about her experiences during the holocaust. She draws on these experiences to talk about how we respond to trauma and how to be a survivor and never a victim. (14:55)