LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Sexuality

At a glance - books relating to sexuality

Shows the cover art for Straight jacket by Matthew Todd

Shows the cover art for The velvet rage by Alan Downs

Shows the cover art for Coming out, coming home by Michael C. LaSala

Shows the cover art for Transgender children and youth by Elijah C. Nealy

Shows the cover art for It gets better by Dan Savage and Terry Miller

Shows the cover art for The new male sexuality by Bernie Zilbergeld

Shows the cover art for The mirror within by Anne Dickson

Shows the cover art for For yourself by Lonnie Barbach

Sexuality

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Coming out, coming home: Helping families adjust to a gay or lesbian child by Michael C LaSala
Michael LaSala shares effective communication methods with families who are supporting gay or lesbian children. Some of his research is surprising - for example it has been shown that learning that a child is homosexual can improve family relationships. This includes father-child relationships, even if a parent reacts negatively to the new information at first. 'Coming out, coming home' is a valuable book for families that contains real-life stories that will help them adjust.
Available as an EBOOK
For yourself: The fulfilment of female sexuality by Lonnie Garfield Barbach
With this guide, you’ll rediscover your sex life and create more enjoyment in it than you ever thought possible. This excellent book for women and their partners will show you step-by-step how to learn more about your own sexuality. It will also help you to learn more about your sexuality and how to enjoy the pleasure it will bring you. Single or married, young or old, all women will find this book informative and supportive.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The mirror within: A new look at sexuality by Anne Dickson
Sexuality is a very private and personal part of a woman's life. But sometimes women who have low self-esteem feel pressured by the demands of other people. Because of this they can't free themselves from the need to please them. 'The mirror within' is not a book that teaches you about having sex or finding a partner. Instead, it asks you to think differently about what you already know and believe about sex. It gives you helpful information about sexuality, which is an interesting and often confusing topic.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The new male sexuality: The truth about men, sex and pleasure by Bernie Zilbergeld
'The new male sexuality' is a book that answers the questions asked by men today, and the women who love them. The author is a psychologist who has studied human sexuality for twenty years. He shares his experiences and those of his clients, as well as the knowledge of other experts in the field. The book offers guidance on how to increase desire and arousal, how to focus on pleasure instead of performance, and how to make sex enjoyable and satisfying.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The velvet rage: Overcoming the pain of growing up gay in a straight man's world by Alan Downs
This book examines the effects of growing up and living as a gay man. In this book, psychologist Alan Downs describes his own struggle with shame and anger. He looks at recent research and shares his patients’ stories. He teaches gay men how to leave shame behind them. He also offers practical ways to stop negative patterns of behaviour. This is a powerful book that has changed the way people talk about gay culture. It has helped many gay men to start living more positive and fulfilling lives.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Transgender children and youth: Cultivating pride and joy with families in transition by Elijah C. Nealy
Elijah C. Nealy is a therapist and a former deputy executive director of New York City's LGBT Community Center. He is a trans man and has written the first-ever guide to understanding, supporting, and welcoming trans kids. This book covers everything from family life to school and mental health issues. It also covers the physical, social, and emotional issues around transition will advise you on the best ways you can support trans kids.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Straight jacket: Overcoming society's legacy of gay shame by Matthew Todd
'Straight Jacket' is a well researched book that talks about how to overcome many difficult issues. It offers practical advice that will be very helpful for members of the LGBTQ+ community. The book explains that this is a critical moment in time. Everyone needs to help and support young people and older people in the LGBTQ+ community. The book calls for members of this community to come together and create a better future for everyone.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
It gets better: Coming out, overcoming bullying, and creating a life worth living by Dan Savage and Terry Miller
This book contains essays and material posted by celebrities, everyday people and teens on the 'It gets better' site. While many of these teens couldn't see a positive future for themselves, we can. We can show LGBT youth the levels of happiness and positivity their lives will reach if they can just get through their teen years. By sharing these stories, 'It gets better' reminds teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone - and it will get better.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this podcast, Michael LaSale, author of 'Coming out, coming home' talks about how effective family therapy can protect children who are part of the LGBTQ+ community. (31:47)

In this video, Elijah Nealy, author of 'Transgender children and youth' talks about how to be a great parent or friend to transgender kids. (9:53)