LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Depression

At a glance - books relating to depression

Shows the cover art of Feeling good by David D. Burns

Shows the cover art of Coming through depression by Tony Bates

Shows the cover art of The noonday demon by Andrew Solomon

Shows the cover art of I had a black dog by Matthew Johnstone

Shows the cover art of Overcoming depression and low mood by Chris Williams

Shows the cover art of An introduction to coping with depression by Lee Brosan and Brenda Hogan

Shows the cover art of Malignant sadness by Lewis Wolpert

Shows the cover art of Overcoming depression by Paul Gilbert

Shows the cover art of Reasons to stay alive by Matt Haig

Shows the cover art of Darkness visible by William Styron

Shows the cover art of The mindful way through depression by Mark Williams; John Teasdale; Zindel Segal; Jon Kabat-Zinn

Shows the cover art of The compassionate mind approach to postnatal depression by Michelle Cree

Shows the cover art of The mindful way workbook by John Teasdale; Mark Williams; Zindel Segal

Shows the cover art for The feeling good handbook by David D. Burns

Depression

To make it easier to browse this long list of books the titles have been divided out by format and library location: Ebooks, books located in both O'Reilly Library and Cregan Library, books located in O'Reilly Library only and books located in Cregan Library only.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Ebooks

Reasons to stay alive by Matt Haig
Aged 24, Matt Haig could see no way to go on living. This is the true story of how he came through crisis, triumphed over an illness that almost destroyed him and learned to live again. A moving, funny and joyous exploration of how to live better, love better and feel more alive, 'Reasons to stay alive' is more than a memoir. It is a book about making the most of your time on earth.
Available as an EBOOK

Books located in both O'Reilly Library and Cregan Library

The feeling good handbook by David D. Burns
Dr Burns’ therapy is based on the idea that people create their own moods, so they can learn to change the way they feel. He shows the reader how to apply techniques and provides strategies for overcoming fears, phobias and panic attacks. He deals with hypochondria and various forms of social anxiety and shows us how to improve intimate communication. He also teaches us how to overcome procrastination, cope with anxiety when public speaking and more.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Malignant sadness: The anatomy of depression by Lewis Wolpert
Several years ago, Lewis Wolpert had a severe episode of depression. Despite a happy marriage and successful scientific career, he could think only of suicide. When he did recover, he became aware of how difficult it was to get reliable information about the condition. With honesty and determination he set about writing this book, an investigation into the causes and treatments of depression. This book formed the basis for a BBC TV series.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Darkness visible: A memoir of madness by William Styron
This is a story of how depression changed William Styron from a person enjoying life and success to a man in extreme distress. With extreme honesty Styron tracks the progress of his madness. He describes his misery and exhaustion, composing his own suicide note and his eventual recovery. He writes about an illness that affects millions but which remains widely misunderstood. This book is about the darkness of depression, but it is also about survival and recovery.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The mindful way through depression: Freeing yourself from chronic unhappiness by Mark Williams, John Teasdale, Zindel Segal and Jon Kabat-Zinn
In this book, four experts explain why our usual attempts to 'think' our way out of a bad mood leads us deeper into it. Through lessons drawn from Eastern traditions and proven therapies, they demonstrate how to change negative mental habits. This will help you avoid despair and to face life's challenges with greater strength. It also includes a CD of guided meditations, making this a complete package for anyone seeking to regain a sense of hope and well-being.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Overcoming depression: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by Paul Gilbert
If you suffer from depression you are far from alone. Depression is very common, affecting over 300 million people around the world. Written by Professor Paul Gilbert, this highly acclaimed self-help book has been of benefit to thousands of people including sufferers, their friends and families and those working in the medical profession. It contains new research on depression, helpful case studies and new, easy-to-follow, step-by-step suggestions and exercises to help you understand your depression and lift your mood.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Books located in O'Reilly Library only

An introduction to coping with depression by Lee Brosan and Brenda Hogan
This introductory booklet explains what depression is and how it makes you feel. It will help you to understand your symptoms and is ideal as an immediate coping strategy and helps prepare you for fuller therapy. It covers how depression develops and what keeps it going and how to spot and challenge thoughts that maintain your depression. It also helps you develop problem solving skills and balanced thinking.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Coming through depression: A mindful approach to recovery by Tony Bates
This guide to recovery is for anyone who is experiencing depression. It's also written for the relatives and friends of that person, hoping they can make sense of what can be a difficult experience to understand. Understanding the journey through depression by all who are affected can connect people who feel isolated by depression and those who care about them.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Feeling good: The new mood therapy by David D. Burns
Anxiety and depression are the most common mental illnesses in the world but for many, the path to recovery seems out of reach. The good news is that anxiety, guilt, pessimism and low self-esteem can be helped. David D. Burns, M.D., outlines the scientifically proven techniques that will immediately lift your spirits and help you develop a positive outlook on life. This will help you stop negative feelings developing, recognise what causes your mood swings and deal with guilt. You'll be able to handle hostility and criticism; overcome addiction to love and approval and build self-esteem.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The compassionate mind approach to postnatal depression by Michelle Cree
It is very common for new mothers to experience a short period of distress following childbirth, often referred to as 'baby blues'. Usually this passes quite quickly, however for more than 1 in 10 women, this distressing experience can last longer. This practical self-help book will help women to recognise some of the symptoms and reduce or remove their distress.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The mindful way workbook: An 8-week program to free yourself from depression and emotional distress by John Teasdale, Mark Williams and Zindel Segal; foreword by Jon Kabat-Zinn
This 8-week program will help you overcome depression, anxiety, and stress by learning new ways to respond to your own thoughts and feelings. The program uses techniques tested and proven effective in clinical trials. The expert authors introduce specific practices to try each week, plus reflection questions, tools for keeping track of progress, and helpful comments from others going through the program.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming depression and low mood: A five areas approach by Chris Williams
Depression affects many people at some point in their lives. Fortunately, we now know that by changing certain thoughts and behaviour patterns you can greatly improve how you feel. 'Overcoming depression and low mood: A five areas approach' explains how low mood can affect your life. It helps you understand why you sometimes feel low, anxious, angry, or guilty. It also teaches proven practical skills to help you change how you feel. By using the clearly described practical tools inside, you can make helpful changes to your life.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Books located in Cregan Library only

I had a black dog: His name was depression by Matthew Johnstone
Matthew Johnstone uses the phrase 'Black Dog' to describe the depression he has experienced throughout his life. He has written and illustrated this honest and hopeful look into what it is like to have a Black Dog as a companion and how he learned to tame it.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The noonday demon: An anatomy of depression by Andrew Solomon
The 'Noonday demon' examines depression in personal, cultural, and scientific terms. The book draws on Andrew Solomon's own experience with the illness and on interviews with fellow sufferers, doctors and scientists, policy makers and politicians. He reveals the lesser known realities and sheer agony of the disease. He defines the illness and describes the vast range of available medications and alternative treatments. He also examines the effect depression has on various populations.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Dr Christine Padesky, co-author of 'Mind over mood' describes how the workbook exercises in her bestselling book will help you "change how you feel by changing the way you think." (02:19)

In this Ted Talk, Zindel Segal, co-author of 'The mindful way workbook' explains how mindfulness works to treat depression. (18:04)

This video is based on Matthew Johnstone's book 'I had a black dog, his name was depression'. The book offers a hopeful look into what it is like to have 'the Black Dog,' or depression, as a companion. (04:18)

This video advises those living with and caring for people with depression on what to do, what not to do, and where to go for help. (05:56)