LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Skills for Academic Success

At a glance - books relating to skills for academic success

Shows the cover art for Critical thinking skills by Stella Cottrell

Shows the cover art for Effective study skills by Geraldine Price and Pat Maier

Shows the cover art for How to get a PhD by Estelle M. Phillips and Derek S. Pugh

Shows the cover art for How to write a thesis by Rowena Murray

Shows the cover art for by Skills for success by Stella Cottrell

Shows the cover art for The smart but scattered guide to success by Peg Dawson, Richard Guare

Shows the cover art for The unwritten rules of PhD research by Gordon Rugg, Marian Petre

Shows the cover art for The study skills handbook by Stella Cottrell

Skills for Academic Success

The books in this section have been divided into the following categories: doctoral study and smart skills.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Doctoral study

The unwritten rules of PhD research by Marian Petre and Gordon Rugg
'The unwritten rules of PhD research' explains the process of doing a PhD in an easy to understand and interesting way. It also covers a lot of topics that other books usually don't talk about. It gives you the good advice that many students wish they had before they started their PhD. This book is essential for anyone who is thinking about doing a PhD or who has already started one.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
How to write a thesis by Rowena Murray
In this book Rowena Murray teaches students how to structure their thesis. As a guide it is straightforward and effective and offers valuable advice and practical tips. This book goes beyond the basics of how to write a thesis. It also teaches many different writing techniques that will improve your own approach to writing. It looks at issues including what to do with writer’s block, when you can’t think of what to write or how to continue writing. It shows you how to write a literature review and how to make notes into a draft.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
How to get a PhD: A handbook for students and their supervisors by Estelle M. Phillips and Derek S. Pugh
This book is helpful for anyone doing research for a doctorate, as it provides a clear understanding of the process. It also gives practical advice for supervisors and senior academic administrators. It does this by looking at the responsibilities that universities have for supporting research students. Senior academic administrators will understand the level and type of support research students will need to help them write a successful doctoral thesis.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)

Smart skills

The smart but scattered guide to success: How to use your brain's executive skills to keep up, stay calm, and get organized at work and at home by Peg Dawson; Richard Guare
In this book, Peg Dawson and Richard Guare will help you understand how well you can plan, organise, and manage your time. They give you practical tips to improve these skills and ten other important abilities. The book is full of scientific ideas and real-life examples, and it has tools to create your personal plan. Whether you’re working or at home, you can get more done while feeling less stressed.
Available as an EBOOK
Critical thinking skills: Effective analysis, argument and reflection by Stella Cottrell
'Critical thinking skills' teaches you how to think carefully and make good decisions by following simple steps. It shows you how to use these skills when you read, take notes, and write. The book makes it simple to understand a difficult subject by breaking it into smaller parts. It uses clear explanations, good examples, and lots of activities to help you learn at each step.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
Skills for success: Personal development and employability by Stella Cottrell
This guide is designed to help students create a plan to develop the skills and abilities that employers want. It shows students how to set goals and define success and takes them through each step to get their ideal job. Stella Cottrell explains the process in easy-to-understand steps, and gives students the tools they need to create their own plan for success.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
The study skills handbook by Stella Cottrell
'The study skills handbook' is for you! Stella Cottrell has helped hundreds of thousands of students to make learning easier, faster and more enjoyable. She knows that everyone has their own way of learning, so she helps you discover what works best for you. This can help you to unlock your potential, develop the skills you need to improve your grades, increase your confidence, and plan for your future.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
Effective study skills: Unlock your potential by Geraldine Price and Pat Maier
This high quality textbook teaches the essential academic skills needed to be successful in university. It covers practical skills as well as skills that students can take with them wherever they go. The book gives guidance in a way that is easy for students to understand. It teaches important skills that can be useful for any university course or even in employment later on. Overall, it is a student-friendly guide to the skills that are essential for academic and professional success.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this video Kelly McGonigal, author of 'The willpower instinct' talks about how we can learn to overcome bad habits and resist temptation. (54:02)

This video is aimed at teaching college students how to manage their time more effectively. (07:29)

This video discusses how the Pareto Principle, also known as the 80/20 rule, can help you to manage your time better. (06:35)

In this video you'll learn how to improve your time-management skills and become an effective planner by using the S.M.A.R.T. theory. (03:50)

Learn how to create an effective study schedule in this short video from The Pocket Mentor. (04:44)

In this video tutorial, learn how to beat procrastination and maintain productivity and focus using The Pomodoro Technique. (05:47)

Psychologist Diane Halpern explains the term critical thinking in this video. She discusses how this skill should be taught and why it is so important. (06:05)

Brian Oshiro shares what he has observed in the classroom in his role as a teacher evaluator. He talks about the ways we can develop critical thinking in ourselves and in children. (17:11)

In the Life Raft PhD podcast Rowena Murray, author of 'How to write a thesis,' talks about how to finish writing your thesis. (24:39)

'Academic Skills - Presenting effectively - Part 1' teaches you the 5 things all presenters should know and shows you how to sequence and structure your presentation. (05:52)

'Academic Skills - Presenting effectively - Part 2' teaches you how important your body language and tone of voice are when you're doing a presentation. (03:33)

'Academic Skills - Presenting effectively - Part 3' teaches you how to use PowerPoint, text and animations to create effective presentations. (09:09)