LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Parenting

At a glance - books relating to parenting

Shows the cover art for Raising feminist boys by Bobbi Wegner

Shows the cover art for The cyber effect by Mary Aiken

Shows the cover art for Baby love by Maud Bryt

Shows the cover art for The teenage brain by Frances E. Jensen with Amy Ellis Nutt

Shows the cover art for Age of opportunity by Laurence Steinberg

Parenting

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: infants, children and teenagers.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Infants

Baby love: A tradition of calm parenting by Maud Bryt
Discover step-by-step instructions for all your daily routines with your baby. Learn which material is gentlest for your baby's skin and how to make a soothing night-time routine of food, bath, song, and sleep. This book includes details that come from experience and love.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Children

Raising feminist boys: How to talk with your child about gender, consent and empathy by Bobbi Wegner; foreward by Jessica Joelle Alexander
This is a parent's guide to having conversations with boys about sexual responsibility, consent, gender and identity. This practical guide includes advice about how to begin these conversations. It covers the language you should use and clear tools for how to talk with your son about feminism. We need to have honest conversations with our sons about sex and consent. These should teach them how to question harmful stereotypes and their own unfair beliefs. 'Raising feminist boys' will give you the tools you need to get started.
Available as an EBOOK
Conscious parenting: A guide to raising resilient, whole-hearted and empowered kids by Pedram Shojai and Nick Polizzi
Do you feel like you and your kids are not communicating properly? Do you feel stressed and anxious as a parent? This book will teach you how to connect with your children and how to raise them to be confident and able to face any challenge. Learn how to build a strong family group where everyone communicates with each other effectively. This book is filled with advice from parenting consultants, therapists, paediatricians and child educators.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Teenagers

The cyber effect: A pioneering cyberpsychologist explains how human behavior changes online by Mary Aiken
Mary Aiken's book looks at how the Internet is shaping our development and behaviour. It is also effecting people's values, their children, safety, privacy and the way we view the world. Drawing on her own research and experience Aiken covers a wide range of subjects. She provides surprising statistics and research studies about the effect the internet is having on us. She shows how these are shaping our culture and raising worrying questions about where it is taking us.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Age of opportunity: Lessons from the new science of adolescence by Laurence Steinberg
'Age of opportunity' is written by Laurence Steinberg, a world-famous expert on the teenage years. He draws on new evidence to explain the teenage brain's ability to change. He offers new strategies for teaching teenagers how to adapt and how to control their emotions and more. He shows how new research about adolescence must change the way we raise, teach, and treat young people. He provides a valuable guide for parents, teachers, and anyone else who cares about adolescents.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The teenage brain: A neuroscientist's survival guide to raising adolescents and young adults by Frances E. Jensen; Amy Ellis Nutt
Why is it that the behaviour of teenagers can be so strange? As they grow older, young children improve their understanding of how to behave. All of a sudden they can stop communicating and become very emotional and hard to predict. We used to think that this behaviour in teenagers was due to changes with their hormones. However modern science shows us that this isn't true.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this video Bobbi Wegner, author of 'Raising feminist boys' explores the role our brain plays in forming gender stereotypes. She offers practical advice on how to talk to children about this, changing the way men and women see each other from a very early age. (17:58)

In this video Mary Aiken, author of the 'The cyber effect' examines how internet usage effects human behaviour. (30:00)