LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Managing Emotions

At a glance - books relating to managing emotions

Shows the cover art for Beating anger by Mike Fisher

Shows the cover art for Stop thinking, start living by Richard Carlson

Shows the cover art for Emotional agility by Susan David

Shows the cover art for Happy mind happy life by Dr Rangan Chatterjee

Shows the cover art for Just one thing by Rick Hanson

Shows the cover art for Healing rage by Ruth King

Shows the cover art for Emotional first aid by Guy Winch

Shows the cover art for How to cope by Claire Hayes

Shows the cover art for The anger control workbook by Matthew McKay and Peter Rogers

Shows the cover art for Overcoming anger and irritability by William Davies

Shows the cover art for The happiness trap by Russ Harris

Shows the cover art for Managing anger by Gael Lindenfield

Shows the cover art for The dance of anger by Harriet Lerner

The emotional healing strategy: a recovery guide for any setback, disappointment or loss by Gael Lindenfield

Shows the cover art for The emotional life of your brain by Richard J. Davidson and Sharon Begley.

Shows the cover art for The U turn by Conor Farren

Shows the cover art for Draw on your emotions by Margot Sunderland and Philip Engleheart

Shows the cover art for The practice of happiness by John Kehoe

Shows the cover art for Emotional confidence: Simple steps to build your confidence by Gael Lindenfield

Shows the book cover of The CBT handbook by Pamela Myles and Roz Shafran

Shows the cover art of Mind over mood by Dennis Greenberger and Christine A. Padesky

Managing emotions

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: anger, emotional agility and happiness.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Anger

Managing anger: Simple steps to dealing with frustration and threat by Gael Lindenfield
Anger is a natural emotional response to threat, hurt, frustration or loss. As such, it’s a healthy survival tool and a way to release a build-up of emotional pressure. But anger is also a dangerous force. Uncontrolled anger can lead to words you'll regret, violence and hurt. However anger that is not expressed can cause bitterness, stress, misery and guilt. All of these can seriously damage your health. In this book Gael Lindenfield explains the effects of anger on our minds and bodies. She suggests ways of dealing both with our own anger and that of other people.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Healing rage: Women making inner peace possible by Ruth King
Few people recognise the power of rage as a way to achieve healing. Most people don't have the skills to change rage from a destructive force to a positive resource. When we treat rage respectfully, it teaches us how to live, love, and heal. This book gives readers access to Ruth King’s programme, which has already changed thousands of lives nationwide. Rage should be understood as potential energy and power rather than as a useless emotion, empty of story or knowledge.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The anger control workbook by Matthew McKay and Peter Rogers
Readers don't always have the patience to work through a set of exercises. They won't always be able to make a commitment to a long process with the promise of an eventual positive outcome. Thankfully, the new model of anger control introduced in this workbook is based on a simple approach that gives readers the tools they need to manage their anger in their day-to-day lives.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Overcoming anger and irritability: A self-help guide using cognitive behavioral techniques by William Davies
In this book, clinical psychologist Dr. William Davies explores how anger and irritability affect us in different ways. He sets out effective strategies to reduce feelings of irritability and become less angry. In this book you will read about the nature of anger and irritability and how our brains sometimes work against us. It covers how to gain an understanding of our anger and irritability and how to make changes. It teaches techniques to help everyone think and do things differently. It also examines changing the world around us, case studies and relaxation techniques.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Beating anger: The eight-point plan for coping with rage by Mike Fisher
Here is the perfect book to help anyone from 16-75 years old to beat their anger. This book explains what anger is and what causes it. It examines the various different types of anger and how to heal emotional aggression. It simplifies the process with the 8 Golden Rules of Anger Management. It's aimed at parents, families, young adults and teachers, social and youth workers and health care professionals. It will also help managers, customer service departments, psychotherapists and counsellors. There cannot be many men or women who have not felt uncomfortable when they are angry, and wondered what to do about it.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The dance of anger: A guide to changing the pattern of intimate relationships by Harriet Lerner
We all have a right to everything we feel - and certainly our anger is no exception. "Anger is a signal and one worth listening to," writes Dr. Harriet Lerner in this book, which has transformed the lives of millions. While anger deserves our attention and respect, women still learn to silence their anger. They may deny it entirely, or vent it in a way that leaves them feeling helpless and powerless. In this book, Dr. Lerner teaches both women and men to identify the true sources of anger and to use it as a powerful way to create lasting change.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Emotional agility

Draw on your emotions by Margot Sunderland and Philip Engleheart
This manual contains a series of picture exercises. These will help people of all ages express, communicate and deal more effectively with their emotions in everyday life. It helps to promote a clear way of thinking as a first step towards bringing problems into a new perspective. It offers opportunities to experiment with other ways of living using paper exercises that can be adapted for any age range and ability. This is a superb non-verbal counselling tool.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
How to cope: The welcoming approach to life's challenges by Claire Hayes
In this book Dr Claire Hayes demonstrates how each of us can use therapeutic techniques to help us cope. She shows us how to make sense of our feelings and to become aware of our unhelpful thoughts and our core beliefs. Most of all she teaches us to focus on what we can actually do to improve things for ourselves. She shows us how to manage life’s challenges, such as pressure, failure, success and change. A number of case studies show the success of Dr Hayes’s approach while practical exercises and advice make success available to all readers.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The emotional life of your brain: How its unique patterns affect the way you think, feel, and live and how you can change them by Richard J. Davidson and Sharon Begley
Why we behave the way we do has been Richard Davidson's life study. The two authors help us to understand our own emotional responses and discover our emotional style. They also show how we can retrain our brains through mindfulness and meditation to change patterns of negative behaviour. Practical and interesting, this book expands our view of what it means to be human.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (main collection)
Emotional agility: Get unstuck, embrace change, and thrive in work and life by Susan David
Susan David used more than 20 years of academic research, consulting, and her own experiences when writing this book. She describes a new way to help us to make peace with our inner selves. Her teachings will also help us to achieve our most valued goals, make real change, and live life to the fullest. She teaches a new way of living and of relating to yourself and the world around you. Become aware of your true nature, learn to face your emotions with acceptance and generosity, act according to your deepest values and succeed.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Mind over mood by Dennis Greenberger and Christine A. Padesky
Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book has already helped more than 1,200,000 readers successfully recover using effective therapeutic techniques. Learn to use these techniques to reduce depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem and more.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Emotional confidence: Simple steps to build your confidence by Gael Lindenfield
Gael Lindenfield takes the latest research into the body/mind/behaviour cycle and explores how we can control our body, mind and behaviour to have healthy relationships, happy selves and successful working lives. Gael's emotional healing plan helps the reader deal with old and new emotional pain in seven steps. This is a book which looks at what emotions are and how best to deal with guilt, shame, jealousy, anger, envy and other feelings which get in the way of you living a full, happy and successful life.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The emotional healing strategy: A recovery guide for any setback, disappointment or loss by Gael Lindenfield
We have spent years searching for medical answers to our physical pain. Yet when it comes to psychological injuries the solutions are much less available. Gael Lindenfield has suffered her own personal tragedies and this led her to develop her own methods for overcoming many different types of hurt. She discovered that there are seven stages to recovery and their effectiveness has been proven by the clients she has helped. The treatment will allow you to move on and develop techniques to help you cope in any times of loss or hurt, however great or small.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Emotional first aid: Healing, rejection, guilt, failure and other everyday hurts by Guy Winch
This book is essential reading for anyone looking to build self-esteem and let go of the hurts that are holding them back. Failure, guilt, rejection and loss are a part of life and fortunately, there is such a thing as mental first aid for hurt emotions. Guy Winch draws on the latest scientific research and uses real-life examples in this book. He offers step-by-step treatments that are fast, simple, and effective.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Just one thing: Developing a Buddha brain one simple practice at a time by Rick Hanson
Research has shown that little daily practices can change the way your brain works. This book offers simple training practices you can do every day to protect against stress, lift your mood, and find greater emotional strength. Discover over 50 practices created to deepen your sense of well-being and unconditional happiness. Just one practice each day can help you be good to yourself, build on your strengths and enjoy life as it is. They will also help you make peace with your emotions and be more effective at home and at work.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The CBT handbook: A comprehensive guide to using Cognitive Behavioural Therapy to overcome depression, anxiety and anger by Pamela Myles and Roz Shafran
This self-help guide will help anyone experiencing depression, low self-esteem, low mood, stress or anger. The therapeutic techniques described in this book are widely recommended for the treatment of the issues listed. This book is written by two of the UK's leading clinicians and researchers, experts in the field.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Happiness

Happy mind happy life: The new science of mental well-being by Rangan Chatterjee
Research has shown that poor mental health affects our overall health. This book will show you how making small changes to your thinking is the secret to feeling happier and healthier. With 10 simple tools that have changed the lives of his patients, the life-changing advice in this book will reconnect you with yourself. It will help you feel more fulfilled and discover what happiness is for you.
Available as an EBOOK
The happiness trap: Stop struggling, start living by Russ Harris
In this book Dr. Russ Harris provides a way to escape stress, anxiety, insecurity and depression. He gives us the skills to achieve a truly fulfilling life. This book presents the techniques of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT). It is a book for everyone who wants to build a rich and meaningful life. It will help you if you’re lacking confidence, facing illness, coping with loss or working in a high-stress job. It will also help if you're suffering from anxiety or depression. This book will show you how to build real happiness.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Stop thinking, start living by Richard Carlson
In this handbook, Richard Carlson demonstrates how we can change everything in our lives yet still feel unhappy. Happiness, he says, is not outside you but within. It's a state of mind that is independent of what's happening in our lives. With this book you will learn how your thoughts affect how you feel and why thinking about problems only makes them worse. It will teach you simple methods for ending depression and how to get rid of negative thoughts to find inner contentment. Finally, you'll be able to overcome pessimism and start really living.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The practice of happiness by John Kehoe
Here the author takes us on his personal journey to the most remote corners of India, Australia, Africa and North America. In this book he shows us how he hopes to solve the ultimate mystery of happiness. His discoveries create an interesting book full of wonderful real stories sure to inspire those who seek happiness in their own lives. You will refer to this book often as a source of joy and comfort.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The U Turn: A guide to happiness by Conor Farren
This books takes the simple belief that increased self-esteem is the key to a happier life. It presents a way of dealing with the negative emotions that can interfere with enjoying life. The book includes case studies and the author discusses his own relevant experiences. It also includes activities to help the reader understand the topics being discussed better. There is a further reading section at the end of the book which will help readers to locate more literature to inform their own journey.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Happiness skills: Based on positive psychology by Michaela Avlund
‘Happiness skills’ is a practical account of the skills needed for work, rest and play. It will teach you how to strengthen positive relationships and connections with people around you. This in turn helps you to create feel-good hormones and boost your immune system. Read this book to fully understand the science behind the techniques the book teaches and learn lots of ideas to help you boost your wellness.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The happiness project by Gretchen Rubin
‘The happiness project’ describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Using scientific research, classical philosophy and practical strategies Rubin has written a book that could change your life. This New York Times bestseller has sold more than 1 million copies worldwide. It has been described as ‘a cross between the Dalai Lama's The art of happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, pray, love.’
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this video, Sharon Martin talks about how it's important to feel and accept your feelings and then let them go. This will help you to avoid feeling overwhelmed by them. (08:29)

In one of the most popular Ted Talks of all time, Brené Brown, author of 'Rising strong' talks about the power of vulnerability. (20:03)

Brené Brown explores what can happen when people confront their shame head-on. (20:22)

In this Ted Talk video Susan David, author of 'Emotional agility' talks about how the way we deal with our emotions shapes everything that matters. (16:48)

Rick Hanson, author of 'Hardwiring happiness' explains how you can turn your life experiences into lasting happiness, resilience and inner strength. (13:45)

Gretchen Rubin discusses her New York Times best-selling book 'The happiness project.' (25:31)