LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Grief and Loss

At a glance - books relating to grief and loss

Shows the cover of Aftermath by Roe Gary

Shows the cover of Finding a way through when someone close has died by Pat Mood and Lesley Whittaker

Shows the cover of An introduction to coping with grief by Sue Morris

Shows the cover of Heartbroken by Gary Roe

Shows the cover of I wasn't ready to say goodbye by Brook Noel and Pamela D. Blair

Shows the cover of Facing grief by Susan Wallbank

Shows the cover of After suicide by Sheila Clark

Shows the cover of How to go on living when someone you love dies by Therese A. Rando

Shows the cover of Coping with suicide by Maggie Helen

Shows the cover of It's ok that you're not ok by Megan Devine

Shows the cover of Please be patient, I'm grieving by Gary Roe

Surviving the holidays without you by Gary Roe

Shows the cover of The courage to grieve by Judy Tatelbaum

Shows the cover of The grieving teen by Helen Fitzgerald

Shows the cover of The loss that is forever by Maxine Harris

Shows the cover of When children grieve by John W. James; Russell Friedman; Leslie Matthews

Shows the cover of You are not alone by Lynne B. Hughes

Shows the cover of In a dark wood by Joseph Luzzi

Shows the book cover of Never the Same by Donna Schuurman

Grief and Loss

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: Children and young people, coping with grief, coping with suicide, loss of a parent and the loss of an intimate partner.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Children and young people

Finding a way through when someone close has died: What it feels like and what you can do to help yourself : A workbook by young people, for young people by Pat Mood and Lesley Whittaker
Written by children for children, this unique workbook is both written and illustrated by children and teenagers who have experienced the death of someone close to them. They describe their thoughts and emotions immediately after the death and discuss how their day-to-day lives were affected. They offer advice, based on their own experiences, on how to cope with the practical and emotional effects of bereavement. It is a source of help for bereaved children and teenagers and will be useful for adults who want to support them.
Available as an EBOOK
Facing grief: Bereavement and the young adult by Susan Wallbank
This book examines in detail the particular needs and experiences of young adults who are affected by a major bereavement. The author examines the physical and emotional effects of grief, the changes it can bring about in an individual or family, and provides information about the supports available. This book will help you with the practical business of arranging the funeral and sorting out the will to the upsetting and confusing feelings connected with losing a loved one. It will prove a useful guide for both the bereaved and those who work with them.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The grieving teen: A guide for teenagers and their friends by Helen Fitzgerald
This guide focuses on the needs of adolescents struggling with loss and gives teens the tools they need to work through their grief. Fitzgerald covers the entire range of situations in which teens may find themselves when grieving a death. She helps them address the difficult emotions they will experience and the new situations they will face. Using a clear and accessible format she guides teens through each stage of grief and lets them know that they are not alone.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
When children grieve: For adults to help children deal with death, divorce, pet loss, moving and other losses by John W. James, Russell Friedman and Leslie Matthews
To watch a child grieve and not know what to do is a difficult experience for parents, teachers, and caregivers. There are many life experiences that can produce feelings of grief in a child, from the death of a relative or a divorce in the family to more everyday experiences. No matter the reason, if a child you love is grieving, the guidelines examined in this book can make a difference.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
You are not alone: Teens talk about life after the loss of a parent by Lynne B. Hughes
Loss is one of the most loneliest experiences there is, and kids who have lost a parent feel different than those around them. This book offers words of reassurance and strategies for coping with the loss of a parent. It is written by the director of the nation's largest bereavement camp for children. Through helpful advice for coping with death this guide provides young readers with an informative discussion on the pain of losing one's parent. It does this through experienced techniques and guidance for learning to deal with the loss.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Coping with grief

I wasn't ready to say goodbye: Surviving, coping and healing after the sudden death of a loved one by Brook Noel and Pamela D. Blair
You may be grieving the sudden loss of a loved one or helping someone else through their grief. If so this book will guide you through the grieving process, from the first few weeks to the longer-term emotional and physical effects. It then reveals some of the myths of the grieving process and what really happens as you deal with the pain. This book has offered comfort to over 150,000 people, ranging from elderly people to teenagers and from the newly bereaved to those who lost a loved one years ago.
Available as an EBOOK
The courage to grieve: Creative living, recovery and growth through grief by Judy Tatelbaum
The Courage to Grieve explores how we can deal with every kind of grief, revealing how grief shows itself in many ways. These range from anguish, exhaustion, emptiness, resentment, longing, tension, confusion and sleeplessness. It explains how we can help ourselves and others to cope with the immediate experience of death and the grief that follows. It also shows how grief can transform our lives in unexpected ways, encouraging joys and growth. It offers spiritual, optimistic, creative, and practical guidance and shows us how to live with courage, not fearing death.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
An introduction to coping with grief by Sue Morris
Grief is a natural reaction to loss but in some cases it can be devastating, preventing you from moving on in your life and affecting your relationships and work. This self-help guide offers an examination and explanation of the grieving process and outlines proven strategies to help you adjust to life without a loved one. It tells you what to expect when you are grieving and helps you understand the reactions to grief. It offers practical coping strategies to help you deal with your loss.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
It's ok that you're not ok: Meeting grief and loss in a culture that doesn't understand by Megan Devine
In 'It's ok that you're not ok,' Megan Devine offers a new approach to both the experience of grief and the way we try to help others who have experienced tragedy. She writes about loss, love, and healing and invites us to build a life that includes grief rather than seeking to remove it. Through stories, research, life tips, and mindful practices, she offers a guide through an experience we all must face. It will help us in our personal lives, in the lives of those we love, and in the wider world.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Please be patient, I'm grieving: How to care for and support the grieving heart by Gary Roe
Do you know someone who's grieving and wish you could help? Are you the one grieving and wonder if what you're going through is normal? Do you wish those around you understood you better? This book provides the answers you need to make a difference - in your own life and in the lives of others. It gives you a look at the grieving heart and its struggles. If you want to help someone who's grieving, you'll get a glimpse of what's going on inside them and be better able to love and support them. If someone close to you has died recently, you'll see yourself as you read, and understand your grief better.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
How to go on living when someone you love dies by Therese A. Rando
Mourning the death of a loved one is something all of us will go through. But whether the death is sudden or anticipated, few of us are prepared for it or for the grief it brings. There is no right or wrong way to grieve; each person's response to loss will be different. This guide leads you gently through the painful but necessary process of grieving and helps you find the best way for yourself. The author offers the comfort and guidance to help you accept your loss and move into your new life without forgetting your past.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Surviving the holidays without you: Navigating grief during special seasons by Gary Roe
This book has helped thousands of grievers not only maintain their sanity, but turn days that they once dreaded into positive, healing times. Written with heartfelt compassion, this easy-to-read, practical book will teach you why holiday grief is so challenging. It will guide you through how to handle memories that cause grief and how to face feeling lonely, misunderstood, and overwhelmed. 'Surviving the holidays without you' will reassure you that you're not alone and that you will make it through these times.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Coping with suicide

Coping with suicide by Maggie Helen
There are over 6,000 suicides in the UK every year, in addition to 160,000 people who attempt suicide. Each suicide leaves an estimated five to eight people closely affected by the death, and nearly 50 percent of the population know someone who has self-harmed. This book is aimed at those whose loved ones have died by suicide, and will also be useful for people working with the relatives and friends of those who have died by suicide. The book covers the reasons for suicide, emotional and practical issues, such as police involvement and arranging the funeral, and where to go for help.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Aftermath: Picking up the pieces after a suicide by Gary Roe
If you have lost someone close to you, this book will be a source of comfort, perspective, hope, and healing to you. Aftermath was written to provide you with the practical tools you need to help you rebuild your heart and life. Discover how to be kind to yourself and patient with yourself during this incredibly hard time and grieve in healthy ways that honor the one you lost. It will help you take your own heart seriously, and express kindness and compassion to those around you.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
After suicide: Help for the bereaved by Sheila Clark
This book has been written in response to the needs of people who have lost a loved one through suicide. It is intended to help people understand the emotions they may face, provides suggestions for practical help and assists them to build a new life again. In this book information is provided in small sections so as to be easily understood by the distressed reader. 'After suicide' has also been used by those who’d like to support those bereaved by suicide in their grief and loss.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Loss of a parent

The loss that is forever: The lifelong impact of the early death of a mother or father by Maxine Harris
This book provides a guide to understanding the effect that early loss has on every aspect of adult growth and development. This book is for anyone who has survived the early loss of a parent, as well as for those with a spouse, friend, or lover who has lost a parent in childhood. It sheds new light on the effect of a parent's early death and shows how the human spirit can survive.
Located in O’REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Never the Same: Coming to terms with the death of a parent by Donna Schuurman
Children and teens who experience the death of a parent are never the same. In this book, Donna Schuurman offers expert advice and encouragement to empower readers to reflect on their unique situation, come to terms with the influence of their parent's death, and live more healthful, peaceful lives.The only book of its kind , Never the Same is an essential companion for those still struggling with the early loss of a parent.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Loss of an intimate partner

Heartbroken: Healing from the loss of a spouse by Gary Roe
Gary Roe is a compassionate and trusted voice in grief recovery. He has been bringing comfort, hope, encouragement, and healing to hurting hearts for more than 30 years. He has supported hundreds of people who have lost their partners. From their stories he has composed this practical work that will comfort your soul. In 'Heartbroken' you will learn how to process your grief, manage life's new upheavals and stresses and survive feeling misunderstood, alone, and even rejected. It will help you to recover, heal, grow, and live again.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
In a dark wood: What Dante taught me about grief, healing, and the mysteries of love by Joseph Luzzi
This book looks at how great art has the power to give us strength in our darkest moments. ‘In a dark wood’ explores the mysteries of Dante’s classic book 'The divine comedy.' Beautifully written and extremely honest, Luzzi’s book is a mix of heartbreaking memoir and insight into one of the greatest pieces of literature in all history. Drawing us into man’s journey into hell and back, it is Dante’s journey, Luzzi’s and our very own.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Watch this video from Megan Devine, author of 'It's ok that you're not ok,' and learn how to support your friends and family through their grief. (03:59)

In this video, Megan Devine discusses how to talk to a grieving person in a way that will support them after a loss. (07:23)

In this PBS broadcast 'Speak your mind - coping with the aftermath of suicide' we hear from two people whose close family members have died by suicide. (28:29)

In this video Gary Roe discusses his book 'Please be patient, I'm grieving.' He talks about how the book will help you to deal with grief in a healthy way or how to support someone who has experience loss (12:16)