LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Mindfulness and Self-Compassion

At a glance - books relating to mindfulness and self-compassion

Shows the cover art for A piece of the quiet by Paul Wilson

Shows the cover art for Mindfulness for beginners by Jon Kabat-Zinn

Shows the cover art for The compassionate mind workbook by Chris Irons and Elaine Beaumont.

Shows the cover art for Mindwandering by Moshe Bar

Shows the cover art for The mindful self-compassion workbook by Kristin Neff and Christopher Germer

Shows the cover art for Altered traits by Daniel Goleman and Richard J. Davidson

Shows the cover art for Mindfulness @ work by Anna Black

Shows the cover art for True refuge by Tara Brach

Shows the cover art for The mindful path to self-compassion by Christopher K. Germer

Shows the cover art for The compassionate mind by Paul Gilbert

Shows the cover art for The miracle of mindfulness by Thich Nhat Hanh

Shows the cover art for Mindfulness pocketbook by Gill Hasson

Shows the cover art for 10 mindful minutes by Goldie Hawn with Wendy Holden

Shows the cover art for The art of stillness by Pico Iyer

Shows the cover art for Self-compassion step by step by Kristin Neff

Shows the cover art for Golden steps to Inner peace and enlightenment by Mildred Ryan

Shows the cover art for Stillness speaks by Eckhart Tolle

Shows the cover art for Radical acceptance by Tara Brach

Mindfulness and Self-Compassion

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: mindfulness and self-compassion.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Mindfulness

Mindfulness pocketbook: Little exercises for a calmer life by Gill Hasson
This little book is packed with over 100 quick exercises, to help you get calm, collected, and balanced. So whenever you start to feel stressed, reach for this book, find the relevant exercise and instantly make life better! Don't let anxiety and worry get the better of you, use these mindfulness exercises in your daily life and get in control and feel more calm and present.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Altered traits: Science reveals how meditation changes your mind, brain, and body by Daniel Goleman and Richard J Davidson
More than forty years ago, Daniel Goleman and Richard Davidson promoted the benefits of meditation before its benefits were widely understood. Now, mindfulness and meditation become ever more popular, promising to fix everything from our weight to our relationship to our professional career. These two bestselling authors reveal some of the misconceptions around current thinking. They show how smart practice can change our personal traits for the better.
Available as an EBOOK
Mindwandering: How it can improve your mood and boost your creativity by Moshe Bar
Your brain is noisy. Certain areas of your brain are always daydreaming or thinking unwelcome thoughts. 'Mindwandering' is the first popular book to explore our wandering minds and the new research behind it. Moshe Bar uses his decades of research to explain the benefits and the possible cost of mindwandering. He provides you with practical knowledge that can help strengthen your relationships with others, increase your concentration at work and reduce your anxiety.
Available as an EBOOK
Mindfulness for beginners: Reclaiming the present moment - and your life by Jon Kabat-Zinn
We may long to feel whole, but Jon Kabat-Zinn suggests that the truth is already here and already ours. The practice of mindfulness holds the possibility of a long-lasting contentment and a feeling of being more connected with our life. With 'Mindfulness for beginners' you are invited to learn how to change the way you think, feel, love, work, and play. This will help you to be who you really are.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
A piece of the quiet: Instant peace and quiet for a noisy, non-stop world by Paul Wilson
In today's world it is becoming harder to step back from it all and consider our mental well-being and emotional stability. Here, Paul Wilson provides simple techniques and solutions to finding inner harmony. 'A piece of the quiet' will help you to find the time, space and room to breathe. You will be able to do this wherever you are and no matter what's going on around you. This book will help you to find inner peace and quiet in today's busy world.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Mindfulness @ work: Reduce stress, live in the moment, and be happier and more productive at work by Anna Black
In this book mindfulness expert Anna Black introduces you to simple but effective mindfulness practices. These will help you to perform well, minimise stress and be more productive at work. She covers topics including how to work mindfully with others and how to pay mindful attention in meetings. She also shows you how to use meditation to cope with stressful situations.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
10 mindful minutes: Giving our children - and ourselves - the social and emotional skills to reduce stress and anxiety for healthier, happier lives by Goldie Hawn
Goldie Hawn offers parents a practical guide for helping their children to learn better and live more happily. '10 mindful minutes' outlines short, practical exercises for parents and children to help young children and teenagers reduce stress and anxiety. It will help them improve their concentration, manage emotions and behaviour and develop greater empathy for others. Importantly, it will help them to become more optimistic and happy.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The miracle of mindfulness by Thich Nhat Hanh; Mobi Ho (Translator) and Tom Hallock
In this book Buddhist monk Thich Nhat Hanh explains how to learn mindfulness skills. Once you have these skills, you can slow your life down and discover how to live in the moment. Even simple acts like washing the dishes or drinking a cup of tea may be transformed into acts of meditation. Thich Nhat Hanh's gentle stories and practical exercises will help you to arrive at greater self-understanding and peacefulness.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Golden steps to inner peace, happiness & enlightenment by Mildred Ryan
There are many levels of enlightenment. This book focuses on the levels you can achieve in this lifetime. It will guide you on your journey to enlightenment, outlining the golden steps you can take to achieve your goal. This is a book for everyone, whatever your religion or beliefs. It contains truths which you can apply to all areas of your life, to enhance your own spiritual practice. Love is the central theme-loving yourself, others and our planet Earth.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Stillness speaks: Whispers of now by Eckhart Tolle
Eckhart Tolle's book promises to show you how to become your true self by embracing silence and stillness. It offers a new understanding of your relationships, of nature, and of the wisdom found in stillness. 'Stillness speaks' is highly practical. Eckhart Tolle shows you how to be with another in a relationship that can survive anything. He shows you how to sit with a dying person, where to find wisdom and how to free yourself of guilt. He also reveals how to control your constant stream of thoughts.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The art of stillness: Adventures in going nowhere by Pico Iyer
The 'Art of stillness' explores the unexpected adventure of staying right where you are. In this age of constant movement, perhaps staying in one place is a more exciting prospect, and more important than ever before. 'The art of stillness' paints a picture of why so many have found value in stillness and what they’ve gained there.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
True refuge: Finding peace and freedom in your own awakened heart by Tara Brach
How do you cope when facing life-threatening illness, family conflict, faltering relationships and old trauma? Add to these obsessive thinking, overwhelming emotion or inevitable loss? If you're like most people, chances are you react with fear and confusion, anger, self-judgement and addictive behaviours. These attempts to control our life may offer temporary relief. However, they end up leaving us feeling isolated and in pain. In this book, Brach offers a practical guide to finding our inner peace and wisdom.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Self-Compassion

The compassionate mind workbook: A step-by-step guide to developing your compassionate self by Chris Irons and Elaine Beaumont
The 'Compassionate mind workbook' is for anyone who is interested in how compassion may help us to deal with, understand and try to relieve suffering. The practices in this book can help people with a range of mental health problems develop compassion for themselves, be open to the compassion of others and develop compassion for others.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The compassionate mind: A new approach to life's challenges by Paul Gilbert
Throughout history people have struggled to cope with a life that is often stressful and hard. We have actually known for some time that developing compassion for oneself and others is important. It can help us face up to and survive the hardship and find a sense of inner peace. In this book we learn about the value of compassion and how it works. Paul Gilbert's book also teaches basic mind training exercises to increase our capacity for compassion.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The mindful path to self-compassion: Freeing yourself from destructive thoughts and emotions by Christopher K. Germer
We all want to avoid pain, but it's important to let it in. Dr. Christopher Germer’s book teaches you how important it is to respond honestly to your own imperfections. This should be done without judgment or self-blame and is an essential step on the path to healing. This book illuminates the power of self-compassion and offers strategies for introducing it into your life.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The mindful self-compassion workbook: A proven way to accept yourself, build inner strength and thrive by Kristin Neff and Christopher K. Germer
More than a thousand research studies show the benefits of being a supportive friend to yourself. This is especially important in times of need. This workbook offers a step-by-step approach to breaking free of harsh self-judgments. It will show you how to stop setting impossible personal standards and how to achieve emotional well-being.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Self-compassion step by step by Kristin Neff
In this audiobook Dr Neff reveals the power of self-kindness. She teaches practical training for creating a sense of your worthiness. You’ll learn how to reduce stress, unlock your creativity and beat depression.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Radical acceptance: Embracing your life with the heart of the Buddha by Tara Brach
'Radical acceptance' offers you a way to escape from feelings of unworthiness. Writing with great warmth and clarity, Tara Brach brings her Buddhist teachings alive through personal stories and case histories. Her book also includes new interpretations of Buddhist stories and guided meditations. Step by step, she leads us to trust our own goodness. She shows us how we can develop the balance of living honestly and compassionately.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy collection, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Jon Kabat-Zinn, author of 'Mindfulness for beginners' will lead you through a 30 minute mindfulness meditation in this video. (31:10)

Tara Brach, author of 'Radical acceptance' talks about the power of meditation in this video. It creates an important acceptance that helps us to respond to our world with intelligence and compassion. (49:47)

In this short teaching video Thich Nhat Hanh, author of 'The miracle of mindfulness' guides us through mindfulness, concentration and insight. (21:18)

Kristin Neff, the author of 'Self-compassion step-by-step' discusses the differences between self-esteem and self-compassion in this Ted talk. (19:00)

Pico Iyer, the author of 'The art of stillness' takes a look at the strategies you can use to regain balance and calm if you're feeling overwhelmed. (15:28)