LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Non-Suicidal Self-Injury

At a glance - books relating to non-suicidal self-injury

The luckiest girl in the world by Steven Levenkron

Shows the cover art for Cutting it out by Carolyn Smith

Self harm The path to recovery by Kate Middleton and Sarah Garvie

Shows the cover art for The scarred soul by Tracy Alderman

Shows the cover art for The parent's guide to self-harm by Jane Smith

Non-Suicidal Self-Injury

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide. Click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Books relating to non-suicidal self-injury

The parent's guide to self-harm: What parents need to know by Jane Smith
This book provides the answers you need to important questions if you think your child is self-harming. These include: how do I know that my child is self-harming? How should I talk to my child about it? What help and treatment is available to us? What can I do to help my child? How have other parents dealt with this issue? This book is full of the real-life experiences of other parents who have been there. It is a practical book that will help you to support your child and yourself through this difficult time.
Available as an EBOOK
Cutting it out: A journey through psychotherapy and self-harm by Carolyn Smith
"Cutting it out" is a book about a young woman's experience with self-harm. It is mostly based on her own life story. The story is told from the first-person point of view which helps the reader understand the issue better. It talks about the struggle between the wish to self-harm and the effort to stop this negative behaviour. The book discusses a topic that is difficult to talk about. It will help therapists, counsellors, people who self-harm and their families and friends understand more about the issue.
Available as an EBOOK and located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Skin game: A cutter's memoir by Caroline Kettlewell
This autobiography reveals a girl whose feelings of pain and alienation led her to seek relief in physically hurting herself, from age twelve into her twenties. The author offers a clear and honest account of her own struggle with self-cutting and her ability to overcome it.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The luckiest girl in the world by Steven Levenkron
In this book the author will help you to understand self-injury. He tells the story of Katie, who used to harm herself but who recovered. Her story will inspire anyone who reads it. It also offers hope to the growing numbers of people who feel the need to resort to this coping strategy.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
The scarred soul: Understanding and ending self-inflicted violence by Tracy Alderman
This book is written for people who experience self-inflicted violence. It teaches them what they can do to stop hurting themselves. 'The scarred soul' looks at the reasons people harm themselves. It shows readers how to examine the effect this has on their lives. It explains to readers how to understand the psychological issues that lead to self-inflicted violence and how to overcome them.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Self harm: The path to recovery by Kate Middleton and Sara Garvie
Many people find it hard to understand why people self-harm. This practical book explains why people self-harm and shows readers how they can stop. The author tells the personal stories of people who have recovered from self harming. It also looks at statistics and information from research on the subject.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

Nic Juniper speaks with Melbourne mum Freya and Orygen’s Sophie Adams about a new guide for parents and carers to cope with a loved ones’ self-harm. (30:00)