LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Relationships

At a glance - books relating to relationships

Shows the cover art for How to break up with your phone by Catherine Price

Shows the cover art for ACT with love by Russ Harris

Shows the cover art for Atlas of the heart by Brené Brown

Shows the cover art for Attached by Amir Levine and Rachel Heller

Shows the cover art for Best friends forever by Irene S. Levine

Shows the cover art for Boundaries and relationships by Charles L. Whitfield

Shows the cover art for Braving the wilderness by Brené Brown

Shows the cover art for Coping with the horroffice by Heena Pattni

Shows the cover art for Coping with your parents' divorce when you're no longer a child by Nancy Ellen Kenyon

Shows the cover art for Crucial conversations by Joseph Grenny

Shows the cover art for Emotional blackmail by Susan Forward

Shows the cover art for Escape by H.G. Tudor

Shows the cover art for Facing codependence by Pia Mellody with Andrea Wells Miller and J. Keith Miller

Shows the cover art for Forgive for good by Fred Luskin

Shows the cover art for Gaslighting by Stephanie Moulton Sarkis

Shows the cover art for Getting past your breakup by Susan J. Elliott

Shows the cover art for Heal and move on by Andrew G. Marshall

Shows the cover art for Will I ever be good enough? by Karyl McBride

Shows the cover art for Hold me tight by Sue Johnson

Shows the cover art for How to hug a porcupine by Press Hatherleigh

Shows the cover art for How to manage your boss by Ros Jay

Shows the cover art for Living with the dominator by Pat Craven

Shows the cover art for Men who hate women and the women who love them by Susan Forward and Joan Torres

Shows the cover art for Out of the fog by Dana Morningstar

Shows the cover art for Power and control by Sandra Horley

Shows the cover art for Rebuilding by Bruce Fisher and Robert Alberti

Shows the cover art for Recovering from emotionally immature parents by Lindsay C. Gibson

Shows the cover art for Surrounded by idiots by Thomas Erikson

Shows the cover art for The better boundaries workbook by Sharon Martin

Shows the cover art for The dance of intimacy by Harriet Lerner

Shows the cover art for Toxic parents by Susan Forward with Craig Buck

Shows the cover art for Where to draw the line by Anne Katherine

Shows the cover art for Women who love too much by Robin Norwood

Shows the cover art for Toxic friends by Susan Shapiro

Shows the cover art for It's all your fault at work by Bill Eddy and L.Georgi DiStefano.

Shows the cover art for Family Secrets by John Bradshaw

Shows the book cover of Is it love or is it addiction by Brenda Schaeffer

Shows the book cover of The seven principles for making marriage work by John M. Gottmann

Relationships

The books in this section have been divided into the following categories: belonging, boundaries, breakups, couples, family, friends, unhealthy relationships and work relationships.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide, click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Belonging

Atlas of the heart: Mapping meaningful connection and the language of human experience by Brené Brown
In 'Atlas of the Heart,' Brown takes us on a journey through eighty-seven of the emotions and experiences that define what it means to be human. She teaches us the skills we will need to create meaningful connections and shares a plan of how to achieve that. She gives us the language and tools we need to make new choices and get second chances. These will help us to share the stories of our bravest and most heart-breaking moments with one another in a way that builds connection.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Braving the wilderness: The quest for true belonging and the courage to stand alone by Brené Brown
Brené Brown has started a conversation about the experiences that bring meaning to our lives. These include experiences of bravery, vulnerability, love, belonging, shame and understanding. In 'Braving the wilderness', Brown teaches us what it means to belong at a time where strong differences of opinion divide us. These opinions are often shaped by fear and cause hostility between people who have different beliefs.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Boundaries

The better boundaries workbook by Sharon Martin
This workbook will show you how to set healthy boundaries across all parts of your life. You can do this kindly and in a caring way. You'll learn to understand your boundaries and discover why they're so important for your emotional well-being. You'll also find tips for keeping those boundaries in place. This book will teach you strategies for what to do when people get upset or threatened by your assertiveness.
Available as an EBOOK
Boundaries and relationships: Knowing, protecting and enjoying the self by Charles L. Whitfield
This book is about relationships - healthy and unhealthy ones. In this book Charles Whitfield draws on theories and research from several different areas. He turns these into practical knowledge and actions that you can use in your relationships right now. This book opens with definitions and descriptions of boundaries and a history of everything we understand so far about them. It also includes a survey you can use to test yourself.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Where to draw the line: How to set healthy boundaries every day by Anne Katherine
This book contains research studies that show the ways people can break their own boundaries or let other people break them. She uses real-life examples of these in her book. Through these examples she offers advice on making choices that balance your own needs with the needs of others. Boundaries are the unseen structures that support healthy, productive lives. This book shows readers how to strengthen them and hold them in place every day.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Breakups

Heal and move on: Seven steps to recovering from a break-up by Andrew G. Marshall
Breaking up is painful and sometimes overwhelming. It will be difficult whether your partner left or it's you who decided to end the relationship. Friends and family tell you to forget the past and look to the future. However, it is never that simple. Before you can move on, you need to understand what went wrong, grieve the loss and heal. This book takes you from hearing the bad news or making the decision to leave through the effects of the split. It will support you to take the first steps of recovery and finally on to making a new life.
Available as an EBOOK
Getting past your breakup: How to turn a devastating loss into the best thing that every happened to you by Susan J. Elliott
In 'Getting past your breakup', Elliott will help you put your energy back where it belongs - on you. Her plan shows you how to separate completely from your former partner. This includes how to cut off contact with them, and how to overcome your grief. This book will teach you how to beat fear and take back your life. It will also teach you the secret to creating better relationships. It will help you when you can't stop thinking about your former partner and find yourself texting, calling, checking social media or driving by the house.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Rebuilding: When your relationship ends by Bruce Fisher and Robert Alberti; foreward by Virginia M. Satir
Over twenty years of research and practice are contained in this book. This includes responses from hundreds of thousands of men and women who have used this book to heal after a breakup. This book also includes strategies which offer couples alternatives to the usual route from separation to divorce. This updated edition of Fisher’s bestselling book offers valuable solutions to his readers.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Couples

Hold me tight: Your guide to the most successful approach to building loving relationships by Sue Johnson
In 'Hold me tight', Dr Sue Johnson presents a new therapy called 'Emotionally Focused Therapy.’ Through this therapy she will teach the reader how to save and improve a relationship. This can be done by building trust and by making the relationship stronger. She will teach couples how to improve their relationships and make their love last. She does this through real stories from her practice, helpful advice and practical exercises.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
ACT with love: Stop struggling, reconcile differences, and strengthen your relationship with acceptance and commitment therapy by Russ Harris
With your partner or alone, 'ACT with love' will teach you how to: let go of conflict, open up, and live fully in the present; use mindfulness to increase intimacy, connection, and understanding; resolve painful conflicts and reconcile long-standing differences; act on your values to build a rich and meaningful relationship.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The seven principles for making marriage work by John M. Gottman and Nan Silver
This book teaches couples how to build a happy, long-lasting relationship. The seven principles teach partners new strategies for making their marriage work. Gottman helps couples to focus on each other and shows them how to find joy in their ordinary day-to-day lives. He teaches couples how to resolve conflict when it happens and how to work through difficult issues.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
The dance of intimacy by Harriet G. Lerner
In 'The dance of intimacy', Harriet Lerner teaches you how to make a good relationship stronger. She also shows you how to fix a difficult relationship. In her popular book she uses clear advice and real examples. You can use this practical guidebook to help you achieve intimate relationships.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Attached: Identify your attachment style and find your perfect match by Amir Levine and Rachel Heller
'Attached' helps readers to understand what attachment style they and their romantic partners follow. An attachment style can be explained as the different ways of communicating and behaving in a relationship. The book offers readers valuable advice about how to handle their relationships more wisely. This advice will depend on their attachment style and that of their partner. An interesting look at the science behind love, 'Attached' offers readers a way to build stronger, better connections.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Family

Recovering from emotionally immature parents: Practical tools to establish boundaries and reclaim your emotional autonomy by Lindsay C. Gibson
This book contains practical exercises, tips and suggestions for what to say and do to increase emotional independence and self-awareness. It will help you to stop putting your own needs last and get rid of self-doubt. It will help you to move beyond the fear of judgment that you have been taught by emotionally immature parents. This book will help you find the freedom to finally live your life the way you want to.
Available as an EBOOK
Toxic parents: Overcoming their hurtful legacy and reclaiming your life by Susan Forward
Millions of people are damaged by the abuse they received from their parents. Parents who ignored their children's needs or made them feel guilty all the time. Parents who were alcoholics or addicted to drugs. Parents who were cruel or simply didn’t care. When these children become adults, the damage done to them in childhood shows. It can appear as depression or difficulty with their relationship, job or their ability to make decisions. With this book as your guide, you will discover an exciting new world of self-confidence, inner strength and emotional independence.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Coping with your parents' divorce when you're no longer a child by Nancy Ellen Kenyon
This book focuses on adults whose parents' relationships are breaking down. It begins by looking at the emotions experienced by parents and adult children. It also looks at how the breakdown affects the young adult. It offers advice on how to handle the issues around the breakdown. These include how to set boundaries and how to divide your time between both parents. They will also help you to deal with a parent's new partner, and how to talk to your own children about their grandparents' divorce.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Family secrets: The path to self-acceptance and reunion by John Bradshaw
‘Family secrets’ gives you the skills you need to understand your family and yourself in an entirely new way. This book will help you explore your family tree and find the patterns that have influenced you. This work is sometimes difficult but it is filled with moments that make everything fall into place. You will come to a new understanding and acceptance of yourself. You will also be able to build more open, honest, and loving relationships with the people who matter most.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Will I ever be good enough? Healing the daughters of narcissistic mothers by Karyl McBride
'Will I ever be good enough?' will help women to recover from their relationships with selfish, abusive mothers. This in the first book for daughters who have suffered the abuse of mothers who care only about themselves. It provides the expert help you need to move on from this challenging history and improve your life. Karyl McBride has more than two decades of experience working as a therapist. In this book, she bases her knowledge on hundreds of interviews done with daughters who have suffered because of their mothers.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
How to hug a porcupine: Easy ways to love the most difficult people in your life by June Eding
'How to hug a porcupine: easy ways to love difficult people in your life', explains that making peace with others isn’t as tough or terrible as we think it is. This is especially true when you explain it all using animals as examples to help solve real-life problems. This book gives tips for calming down parents, children, brothers and sisters, strangers, and other difficult people you may meet.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Friends

Best friends forever: Surviving a breakup with your best friend by Irene S. Levine
In this book Dr Levine uses years of research and the personal stories of thousands of women. These provide solutions to situations where friendships struggle or fail. It is full of tools that will help you to understand your own situation. It includes true stories and practical advice for saving, ending, or understanding a relationship. 'Best friends forever' is an important addition to every woman's library.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Toxic friends: The antidote for women stuck in complicated friendships by Susan Shapiro Barash
A woman can always count on her friends - right? But what if those friendships are hurtful, harmful, even damaging? Susan Shapiro Barash explores the various types of female friends you can have. She shows you why and how women end up with the worst kinds. She also explains the ways to fix or escape a bad friendship and how to recognise a true friend.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy Display, 2nd floor)

Unhealthy relationships

Is it love or is it addiction? by Brenda Schaeffer
This book has helped many people find their way from addictive love to healthy relationships. Brenda Schaeffer draws on years of research to create an understanding of love addiction. This book looks at what it is and what it is not, how to identify it, and how to break free of it. Stories of real people struggling to develop healthy relationships show what healthy love should look like and will help readers to find real intimacy. The author also explores the influence of past abuse and trauma on a person's love addiction.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Escape: How to beat the narcissist by H. G. Tudor
A narcissist is someone who thinks mainly of themselves and ignores the needs of others. In this book, learn from a narcissist the ways you can escape him or her. You will learn how to escape completely or how to stop their negative behaviour and deceit. Understand how these techniques affect the narcissist and understand why they are so effective. Realise what you must and must not do in order to achieve your escape.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Women who love too much by Robin Norwood
Therapist Robin Norwood describes loving too much as a pattern of thoughts and behaviour. Certain women can develop these patterns as a reaction to problems from childhood. Many women find themselves in unhappy and damaging relationships with men. This book takes an honest look at how addictive these unhealthy relationships are. It also teaches the reader techniques that will help them to recover from the disease of loving too much.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Forgive for good: A proven prescription for health and happiness by Fred Luskin
This important study is based on psychological and medical research. It will help you to understand the healing powers and medical benefits of forgiveness. The examples Dr Fred Luskin uses to show this includes his work with victims from both sides of Northern Ireland’s civil war. He offers a forgiveness method that makes it possible to move beyond being a victim. It will show you how to live a life of improved health and contentment.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
How to break up with your phone: The 30-day plan to take back your life by Catherine Price
Journalist Catherine Price presents a practical plan to disconnect from and then reconnect with your phone. The goal? A long-term relationship that actually feels good. You'll discover how phones and apps are designed to be addictive. You will learn how the time we spend on them affects our abilities to focus, think deeply and form new memories. You'll then make changes to your settings, apps and thinking that will help you to take back control of your life.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Living with the dominator: A book about the freedom programme by Pat Craven; Illustrated by Jacky Fleming
This book explains violent and abusive behaviour. It does this by showing why someone reacts to this behaviour depending on their social or physical surroundings. It can help readers of any age and sexual orientation to change their own behaviour and to recognise when they are being controlled. "I can honestly say that without reading this book (9 times no less!) I don't think that I would be here today, relaxed in my own home with my children that I love so much".
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Men who hate women and the women who love them by Susan Forward and Joan Torres
In this book, Dr Susan Forward uses real stories and the voices of men and women trapped in these negative relationships. This will help you understand your male partner’s damaging pattern and the part you play in it. She shows how to break the pattern, heal the hurt ang get your self-respect back. You can then use this to make your relationship better or to find the courage to love a truly loving man.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Codependent no more: How to stop controlling others and start caring for yourself by Melody Beattie
Do you rely too much on another person emotionally? If so, you may be experiencing co-dependency. This book will help you to understand this condition and free yourself from it. It contains true life stories, the personal thoughts of the author and exercises you can complete to test yourself. It’s a simple, straightforward guide that will help you focus on yourself again. Read this book to find healing, hope and happiness.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
Facing codependence: What it is, where it comes from, how it sabotages our lives by Pia Mellody, Andrea Wells Miller and J. Keith Miller
Pia Mellody helps readers to understand codependence (an adult who relies too much emotionally on another person). She explains how the reader can recover from this. She explains the symptoms of this condition, then traces their cause to abuses that occur in childhood. One of the important beliefs in the book is that the codependent adult's inner child needs to be healed.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Out of the fog: Moving from confusion to clarity after narcissistic abuse by Dana Morningstar
People who have been manipulated can be left feeling confused and full of doubt. It can be difficult to understand who has the problem, what is normal and if your needs and feelings are reasonable. This book will help you to tell the difference between good and bad advice. This is important as sometimes bad advice appears at first to be good advice. This is especially true if it comes from friends, family, support group members or therapists.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Power and control: Why charming men can make dangerous lovers by Sandra Horley
This is a classic book by Sandra Horley which has been updated. It contains almost forty years of research based on support given to abused women. It will help you to understand the reality behind men who at first seem to be charming. The book's aim is to show women they are not alone and to help them walk away from the confusing, dangerous situations. Even after damaging emotional and physical abuse, there is hope.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Gaslighting: How to recognise manipulative and emotionally abusive people...and break free by Stephanie Sarkis
Gaslighters use deceit and lies to change the truth. They can be a husband or wife, parent, colleague or friend. Their lies and attempts to control people makes their victims doubt their own experiences. Dr Sarkis looks into the thinking behind the phenomenon and at the different areas of your life where it can take place. She looks at gaslighting in dating, in relationships, at work, and in families.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Emotional blackmail: When the people in your life use fear, obligation, and guilt to manipulate you by Susan Forward with Donna Frazier
In 'Emotional blackmail', Susan Forward looks at relationships damaged by dishonesty and deceit. This book will give victims of emotional blackmail the tools they need to stop it from happening. She teaches the steps readers can take to achieve this. The book contains checklists, practice exercises, and teaches new ways of communicating. These will make relationships stronger and stop emotional blackmail from taking place forever.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Work relationships

Crucial conversations: Tools for talking when stakes are high by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan, Al Switzler
In situations where a lot of risk is involved people often have different opinions and emotions are strong. You could choose to avoid a crucial conversation and suffer the consequences. You could also handle the conversation badly and face the consequences. Or you could read 'Crucial conversations' and discover how to communicate best when it matters the most. 'Crucial conversations' gives you the tools you need to step up to life's most difficult and important conversations and achieve the positive results you want.
Available as an EBOOK
Surrounded by idiots: The four types of human behaviour (or how to understand those who cannot be understood) by Thomas Erikson
In this book, Thomas Erikson will both teach and entertain you. 'Surrounded by idiots', divides people up into four different personality types. He will show you how each personality type thinks. You can then change the way you communicate with people and understand how to get the best out of everyone you come in contact with. This includes those you work with, people you meet or your family and friends.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)
How to manage your boss: Developing the perfect working relationship by Ros Jay
Bosses are human - some good, some bad. But you're not a victim without power. When you’re communicating with your boss, you're more in control than you think. What matters is how to understand them better so you know why they act the way they do. You can then approach situations in the right way to get the best out of your boss.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Coping with the horroffice: How to tame your working day by Heena Pattni
In 'Coping with the horroffice', Heena Pattni passes on valuable tips, tricks and tactics. These have helped her to deal with the many offices she has worked in. The book will teach to how to set goals and create a life balance. This will improve your self-confidence and teach you techniques such as mindfulness and gratitude. You will learn some simple strategies to help you to cope well with office life.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
It's all your fault at work: Managing narcissists and other high-conflict people by Bill Eddy and L. Georgi DiStefano
This book teaches you the ways you can communicate with difficult people at work. You’ll learn how to use different strategies to help you to calm people who cause disagreements. It will help you to think about your choices and how to respond to negative people. It will also help you to stop extremely bad behaviour. While you cannot change someone else’s personality, you can change your own behaviour. This will help you to respond to the person in different ways and make things better at work for everyone.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this podcast Lindsay Gibson, author of 'Recovering from emotionally immature parents' talks to Laura Reagan. They discuss how emotionally immature parents can effect their children's development. (51:21)

In this video Thomas Erickson, author of 'Surrounded by idiots' discusses five ways you can handle conflict. These vary from improving written communication to understanding body language. (13:25)

In this podcast Susan Shapiro Barash, author of 'Toxic friends' shares her research into women and their friendships. (49:26)

In this podcast Stephanie Sarkis explains how gaslighting is used to control others. She offers practical strategies that will help listeners to cope with gaslighters and break free from them. (18:23)

This video explores gaslighting, using an example taken from the film, Tangled. The video also describes gaslighting techniques/tactics, leaving a gaslighter, and what you can do about it. (05:46)

This video summarises the book 'Attached' by Amir Levine and Rachel Heller in a short animated video. (07:51)

Sharon Martin, author of 'The better boundaries workbook' discusses personal boundaries in this video. She looks at how to set realistic boundaries and how to enforce them. (11:01)

If you feel stuck because you can't get people to respect your boundaries, watch this video to find out how to reclaim your power and get your needs met. (07:56)

In this video Bill Eddy, co-author of 'It's all your fault at work' discusses how you can move high-conflict people from blaming to problem solving in just 30 seconds. (55:07)

Learn the top seven lessons from the book 'How To Break Up With Your Phone' by Catherine Price. (05:11)