LibGuides: Live Wise Book Therapy Collection: Neurodiversity

At a glance - books relating to neurodiversity

Shows the cover art for Asperger syndrome a love story by Sarah Hendrickx and Keith Newton

Shows the cover art for Unmasking autism by Devon Price

Shows the cover art for Connecting with your Asperger partner by Louise Weston

Shows the cover art for Scattered minds by Gabor Maté

Shows the cover art for Making dyslexia work for you by Vicki Goodwin and Bonita Thomson

Shows the cover art for An asperger marriage by Chris and Gisela Slater-Walker

Neurodiversity

The titles in this section have been divided into the following categories: Attention deficit disorder (ADD), Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and Dyslexia.

Ebooks

If a title below is listed as an ebook, click on the blue title and author link. Then click 'available online' and click on the ebook link. Enter your DCU username and password if prompted and start reading. Watch our video about finding and accessing ebooks to learn more.

Print titles

The print titles from the Live Wise Book Therapy Collection are located in O'Reilly Library and in Cregan Library. Most of these books are located on one site only, though a small number of titles can be found in both libraries. The library location of each book is included at the end of its description in the guide. Click on the blue title and author link to check its availability and exact shelf location in the library. For more information about how to find a print book in the library, watch our locating books on the shelf video.

Attention deficit disorder (ADD)

Scattered minds: The origins and healing of attention deficit disorder by Gabor Maté
Gabor Maté is a respected physician who specialises in neurology, psychiatry and psychology. He also has attention deficit disorder himself. His book will teach you the wisdom he has gained through years of medical practice and research. 'Scattered minds' is a must-read for parents and for anyone interested in how experiences in childhood shape the human brain.
Located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD)

Asperger syndrome: A love story by Sarah Hendrickx and Keith Newton
Open, honest and upbeat, this book gives personal insight into the ups and downs of an Asperger relationship. It aims to tell the real experience of what's it's like to be in a relationship with someone with Asperger Syndrome. Sarah and Keith tell their story of how they are making it work and also how they got it wrong with honesty and humour.
Available as an EBOOK
Connecting with your asperger partner: Negotiating the maze of intimacy by Louise Weston
Louise Weston provides strategies for relating to and connecting with a partner with Asperger's Syndrome. This book provides useful tips for coping with hurtful words and emotional outbursts. It will help you to interpret your partner's emotions and find further sources of help and support. She shows that your relationship will contain many challenges. The key is to get rid of expectations and to respect each others' differences. In this way this unique partnership really can be both happy and successful.
Available as an EBOOK
An asperger marriage by Christopher Slater-Walker and Gisela Slater-Walker
Chris and Gisela have been partners for many years. When Chris was diagnosed with asperger syndrome he finally understood why he had always been uncomfortable in social situations. For Gisela, it meant realising that it would be a challenge to achieve mutual understanding in their marriage. For the couple it was the beginning of a long process of learning to live with a disability regarded by some as incompatible with marriage.
Available as an EBOOK and located in CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)
Unmasking autism: The radical power of embracing our hidden neurodiversity by Devon Price
Dr Devon Price examines the phenomenon of 'masking' in relation to autism. This is when autistic people learn, practice, and perform certain behaviours and suppress others in order to be more like the people around them. He makes an argument for being yourself completely and not giving in to the pressure to fit in. A powerful call for change, 'Unmasking autism' gives its readers the tools to uncover their true selves and build a new society, one where everyone can be themselves.
Located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection)

Dyslexia

Making dyslexia work for you by Vicki Goodwin and Bonita Thomson
Written for dyslexic adults or anyone who thinks they might be dyslexic, this book is practical and easy to read. This unique guide to overcoming the day-to-day difficulties associated with dyslexia will also be of great interest to others. This includes employers, colleagues, teachers, friends and family of those with dyslexia.
Available as an EBOOK and located in O'REILLY LIBRARY (main collection) and CREGAN LIBRARY (Live Wise Book Therapy display, 2nd floor)

Live Wise Book Therapy Display

The majority of the Live Wise Book Therapy titles located in Cregan Library can be found on these dedicated display shelves on the 2nd floor. The location information at the end of the title description will show you if a title in Cregan Library can be found here, or in the main collection.

Audio visual resources

In this video, Devon Price, author of 'Unmasking autism' talks about how neurodiverse people can learn how to safely uncover their true selves (1:00:47)

In this video Sarah Hendrickx, co-author of 'Asperger syndrome - a love story' talks about social and personal relationships for autistic people. (1:21:51)

In this Ted talk, Elisabeth Wiklander communicates how it is to be autistic yet lead an independent and successful everyday life.(17:59)

Abi Hocking has dyspraxia and she helped make this animated video to promote awareness of the condition. (02:11)

In this video, Kelli Sandman-Hurley talks about the different ways dyslexia presents itself and she celebrates the neurodiversity of the human brain. (04:34)

Heather Brannon talks about how many of her patients who were feeling overwhelmed, anxious, easily frustrated, and tired actually had ADHD. Diagnosing it correctly and treating it was life-changing for them. (08:55)