See below for a list of recommended databases for Communications.
Click for access, then login with your DCU username and password where required.
Consult the A to Z of Library Databases to overview and access all available subscription databases.
Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 covering the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
Citations and full-text access to approximately 95% of all ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, transactions, proceedings and newsletters.
Coverage: 1991 - present.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is a multi-disciplinary search engine to scholarly internet resources, created by Bielefeld University Library in Bielefeld, Germany.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 350 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
Full text access to approximately 411 peer-reviewed journals covering all the main subjects in the humanities, social sciences and hard sciences: mathematics and applied science, neuroscience and biomedicine, history, language and linguistics, political science and international relations. Now includes access to Cambridge Journals Digital Archive, the complete digital archive of Camridge journals, providing instant online access to two centuries of academic excellence and publishing history from Cambridge University Press.
The most comprehensive communication database available, Communication Source provides more than 670 full-text journals from the fields of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organisational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.
Archive of almost 2,000 core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics. Current content is not generally available.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
SpringerLink offers electronic access to almost 2,000 journals from Springer-Verlag. It also offers access to the work of publishers, including Kluwer, Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, and Birkhäuser (N.B. No content from Brill Academic). Choose Browse and Filter by Journal to view available titles.
Coverage: varies according to title.
Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science and gender studies, Project Muse offers over 530 full text titles from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Coverage: Varies according to title
Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 16,000 titles from more than 4000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature, including arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
Scopus Library Guide | E-tutorials and demos
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
WoS is a multidisciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals. It also offers the unique "citation searching" feature, allowing users to see how many times a paper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the three databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Help & E-tutorials: Web of Science - Search Tips (05:37 minutes) | Web Of Science Library Guide
