Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scopus: Introduction

Scopus

Welcome to our Scopus guide.                                                                      

Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature. It offers access to over 25,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts and humanities. There are also more than 44 million patent records from 5 patent offices with links to 'Articles in Press' from over 5,500 journals. Use Scopus to:

  • Create customised searches for peer-reviewed literature across many disciplines                                                                        
  • View citation records to journal articles
  • Access the full text of documents provided by subscriptions through DCU Library
  • View author and affiliation profiles indexed by Scopus

What's an abstract and citation database?

Scopus is an abstract and citation database.

  • Abstracts are brief synopses of articles.
  • A citation gives credit to a source, and contains publication information such as author(s), title and date.
  • Most Scopus citations link to the full-text version of the publication hosted on various publishers' platforms.

Scopus data model

Scopus data recognises that articles are written by authors who have affiliations with institutions.

The relational data model means that Scopus can tell you who is researching what in global literature and where they are doing it.

How big is Scopus?

Scopus has more than 80 million records — and that number is growing all the time.

Download the fact sheet

 

FAQ

Find answers to frequently asked questions.

Scopus Support Center