LibGuides: Library Guide for Communications: Search for journal articles

Use Library Search to find journal articles, books, reports and more

Using Journal articles in your assignments

'Periodical' is an umbrella term for newspapers, magazines, journals - any title published regularly or irregularly. The Library subscribes to thousands of scholarly journals both in print and (mostly) online. You will come across journal articles many times in the course of your studies; they may appear on your reading list and your lecturers will encourage you to consult journal articles when you're doing research, particularly when preparing your literature review.

Journal articles are excellent sources of scholarly information because they can provide very in-depth, up-to-date coverage of a subject; they are typically very structured and written by experts in a given field. Crucially, like books, journal articles that appear in scholarly academic journals are "peer-reviewed" which means they have been critically reviewed and evaluated by a panel of experts before being okay-ed for publication. All of this means that you (as researchers) are assured of the excellent quality of information in a published journal article.

This short video shows you how to find a journal article on Library Search

Finding journal articles on Library Search

Databases

Find articles on your topic by searching the library's A-Z databases on Library Search

Databases we recommend for finding Journal Articles

Click for access, then login with your DCU username and password where required.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 covering the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing. Coverage: Varies according to title.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Citations and full-text access to approximately 95% of all ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, transactions, proceedings and newsletters. Coverage: 1991 - present.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window Full-text access to approximately 411 peer-reviewed journals covering all the main subjects in the humanities, social sciences and hard sciences: mathematics and applied science, neuroscience and biomedicine, history, language and linguistics, political science and international relations. Now includes access to Cambridge Journals Digital Archive, the complete digital archive of Cambridge journals, providing instant online access to two centuries of academic excellence and publishing history from Cambridge University Press.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive communication database available, Communication Source provides more than 670 full-text journals from the fields of mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organisational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. Available through Communication Source is also Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of almost 2,000 core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics. Current content is not generally available.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window Consists of 242 online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines. Includes access to JNCI Cancer Spectrum. Coverage: Varies according to title.
Palgrave Connect - Social and Cultural Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to 100 e-books and spans a large range of subject areas including sociology, social policy, social work, criminology, psychology, cultural studies, media studies, education and gender studies.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science and gender studies, Project Muse offers over 530 full text titles from over 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage: Varies according to title
SAGE journals online This link opens in a new window SAGE Publications publishes over 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window SpringerLink offers electronic access to almost 2,000 journals from Springer-Verlag. It also offers access to the work of publishers, including Kluwer, Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, and Birkhäuser (N.B. No content from Brill Academic). Choose Browse and Filter by Journal to view available titles. Coverage: varies according to title.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) This link opens in a new window Open access repository with abstracts of around 158,000 scholarly working papers with approximately 4 million downloads per year. Specialised network subsets includeCorporate Governance, legal Scholarship, Negotiations, Political Science and Economics.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window Previously Informaworld. Access to 1000+ peer reviewed journal titles published by Taylor and Francis, and a selection of journals published by Routledge and Psychology Press, covering arts and humanities, social sciences, sport, physics, mathematics, and chemistry.
UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window Ulrichsweb is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,00 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to over 1,200 Wiley journals, E-books, reference works and databases covering subject areas including: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences. Register to take advantage of alerting services and stay on top of the latest developments in your field. Coverage: varies according to title.

Got Questions?

Try our LETSfind e-tutorial

www.dcu.ie/library

Contact

Alexander Kouker | O'Reilly Library | Glasnevin Campus | alexander.kouker@dcu.ie