Subject Guide for Communications: Useful Websites and Multimedia resources

Press Council of Ireland - The Press Council of Ireland is responsible for the oversight of the professional principles embodied in the Code of Practice, and with upholding the freedom of the press.

Broadcasting Authority of Ireland - The BAI is the regulator of broadcasting in Ireland. It monitors and enforces compliance of the licensed broadcasters with the broadcasting rules and decides on complaints from viewers and listeners regarding broadcasting content.

RTÉ Archives - RTÉ Archives is responsible for collecting, preserving, and making accessible the national broadcaster's creative and documentary output.

International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR) - IAMCR is the preeminent worldwide professional organisation in media and communication research. The association aims to support and develop media and communication research worldwide.

The Irish Film Institute (IFI) - The Irish Film Institute is Ireland’s national cultural institute for film. We provide audiences throughout Ireland with access to the finest independent, Irish and international cinema, preserve and promote Ireland’s moving image heritage, and provide opportunities for audiences of all ages and backgrounds to learn and critically engage with film.

The British Film Institute (BFI) - A charitable organisation governed by a Royal Charter, the BFI combines cultural, creative, and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX, publishing, and festivals.

EUscreen - EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.

Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 - This resource contains digitisations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eyewitness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials, ephemera, and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail-order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) - VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).