Please see below for recommended data set resources for Ireland, Europe, and International research.
Central Statistics Office
Hosts databases including StatBank; Census of Population, Agriculture and several other public sector areas.
Includes statistical databases from International Organizations such as Eurostat, ECB, OECD, UNECE, UNSC, & IMF.
Irish Social Science Data Archive (ISSDA)
Surveys included are Growing up in Ireland; Opinion Poll data; Cross National Comparative Data, Social and Political Attitudes Survey, NCPP Employee Attitudes Survey, Irish National Election Study, Ageism and Ageing, Eurostudent and Attitudes to Disability.
Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI)
A leading European research centre in the social sciences focusing on economic and social change in Ireland.
Eurostat
The Statistical Office of the European Union. Provides statistical information on the EU Member States. Includes information on Eurostat printed and electronic publications.
Consortium of European Social Science Data Archive (CESSDA)
National data archives for social science teaching and research in Europe.
UK Data Archive (UKDA)
Contains the largest collection of digital data in the Social Sciences and Humanities in the U.K.
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
Part One offers a comprehensive analysis of the customary rules of IHL deemed applicable in international and non-international armed conflict.
Part Two contains a summary of State practice relating to most aspects of IHL, as expressed in national legislation, military manuals, official statements, and case law, and the practice of entities such as international organizations and international courts and tribunals.
Aqris Database (FAO)
A cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate.
Africa Development Indicators (ADI) Online
Provides a detailed collection of data on Africa. It contains over 1,000 indicators covering 53 African countries. ADI provides data from 1960 to 2006 grouped into 14 chapters.
United Nations Official Document System
Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
FedStats
Acts as a portal to the full range of US Government statistical information provided by over 100 US agencies. Topics include economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
World Development Indicators Online
World Development Indicators Online, published by the World Bank, is a comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.
WHO World Health Organisation Statistics
Key international health statistics.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The world's largest archive of social science data for research with over 6,300 studies from sociology, political science, criminology, history, education, demography, gerontology, international relations, public health, economics and psychology.
United States Census Bureau
Summary data files and selected historical data available.
IMF Data
Access to International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics and Balance of Payments Statistics.
International IDEA
Includes data on voter turnout, gender quotas and voting from abroad. The International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (International IDEA) is an intergovernmental organisation with a mission to support sustainable democracy worldwide.