When searching for scholarly journal articles, among other publication types, for your research and assignments we recommend the databases listed below.
You can use ‘Library Search’ to search across multiple resources and databases simultaneously but using these individual databases will help you focus your search to the most relevant literature. It will also allow you to take advantage of some of the unique search features of each database.
We've listed the main 'disciplinary' specific databases which focus on a particular subject area as well as some 'multi-disciplinary' databases which allow you to search across multiple disciplines/subject areas.
Want to browse a particular journal? Our Journal Finder tool is an excellent tool to see the range of journals we have in Geography (expand 'Earth & Environmental Sciences' to see geography journals).
Provides full text access to peer-reviewed articles from high impact geoscience publications. GeoScienceWorld is the result of a collaboration by six leading earth science societies and one institute to develop cooperatively an electronic research resource for earth sciences. It is interoperable with GeoRef, the bibliographic search database published by the American Geological Institute which includes information on over 3500 publications.
Coverage: Varies according to title
You will need to create an account to access content. Click on 'My Data Login/Create an Account' in the top right hand corner - 'New User' - 'Create an Account'.
The world's largest archive of social science data for research with over 6,300 studies from sociology, political science, criminology, history, education, demography, gerontology, international relations, public health, economics and psychology.
Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 16,000 titles from more than 4000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature, including arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
Scopus Library Guide | E-tutorials and demos
Scopus is a citation index so you can track research via citations. You can see the references cited by each paper and view the papers that have subsequently cited a particular paper. It’s like looking back in time (the references cited by a paper) but also forward in time (the papers that cite a particular paper).
Web of Science is a citation index so you can track research via citations. You can see the references cited by each paper and view the papers that have subsequently cited a particular paper. It’s like looking back in time (the references cited by a paper) but also forward in time (the papers that cite a particular paper).
WoS is a multidisciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals. It also offers the unique "citation searching" feature, allowing users to see how many times a paper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the three databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Help & E-tutorials: Web of Science - Search Tips (05:37 minutes) | Web Of Science Library Guide
Web of Knowledge is a web-based platform which provides access to high-quality research information. Several products are available to search within the Web of Knowledge platform
Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 covering the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
