Research Methodologies in Translation Studies by
As an interdisciplinary area of research, translation studies attracts students and scholars with a wide range of backgrounds, who then need to face the challenge of accounting for a complex object of enquiry that does not adapt itself well to traditional methods in other fields of investigation. This book addresses the needs of such scholars - whether they are students doing research at postgraduate level or more experienced researchers who want to familiarize themselves with methods outside their current field of expertise. The book promotes a discerning and critical approach to scholarly investigation by providing the reader not only with the know-how but also with insights into how new questions can be fruitfully explored through the coherent integration of different methods of research. Understanding core principles of reliability, validity and ethics is essential for any researcher no matter what methodology they adopt, and a whole chapter is therefore devoted to these issues. Research Methodologies in Translation Studies is divided into four different chapters, according to whether the research focuses on the translation product, the process of translation, the participants involved or the context in which translation takes place. An introductory chapter discusses issues of reliability, credibility, validity and ethics. The impact of our research depends not only on its quality but also on successful dissemination, and the final chapter therefore deals with what is also generally the final stage of the research process: producing a research report. nbsp;
Research Methods by
Research Methods: A Practical Guide for the Social Sciences is an essential resource for the social researcher. It offers a comprehensive introduction for first time researchers right through to thorough and practical advice for those undertaking more advanced work. The book draws on real life experiences from a wide variety of disciplines to show how theory translates into practice, and offers a rigorous analysis of why researchers choose the methods they use. Think about it boxes throughout the text offer questions and ideas to help the researcher to focus on core issues and practical considerations, whilst your research summaries present questions, activities and checklists to help the researcher to develop their ideas. The book is supported by a fantastic companion website that contains learning materials, interactive exercises, videos, questionnaires, datasets and much more. The website can be found at: www.pearsoned.co.uk/matthews Written to reflect the breadth of the social sciences, Research Methods is essential for anyone conducting research in sociology, health policy, social work, criminology, social policy, cultural studies, political studies, public policy and related fields.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by
The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world. The Third Edition uses multidisciplinary case studies, and examples from the author's own experience, to answer your questions and support your progress as you move smoothly through each stage. With a new chapter on mixed methods approaches, more on disseminating research, more on the practical and legal implications of ethics and more international examples, the book is packed full of learning features and tools to support your journey, including: A fully-developed website with podcasts, videos, journal articles and examples of real projects Activities and worksheets to help you organize your time Learning objectives to sustain your momentum Top tips relating to key research skills Full glossary to test understanding and provide definitions Annotated further reading to help you move through the literature 'Excuse me, I have a question!' feature to answer common questions. Warm, innovative and clever, this book is packed full of must-have information for anyone doing a research project.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by
Now with entertaining and inspiring videos from the author and a wealth of online resources to support the text the approachable, clear and friendly Sixth Edition of David Silverman′s classic text equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
Researching Translation and Interpreting by
This volume offers a comprehensive view of current research directions in Translation and Interpreting Studies, outlining the theoretical concepts underpinning that research and presenting detailed discussions of the various methods used. Organized around three factors that are responsible for shaping the study of translation and interpreting today¿post-positivist theoretical approaches, developments in the language industry, and technological innovations¿this volume is divided into three parts: Part I introduces the basic concepts organizing translation and interpreting research, such as the difference between qualitative and quantitative research, between product-oriented and process-oriented studies, and between prescriptive and descriptive approaches. Part II provides a theoretical mapping of current translation and interpreting research, covering the theories underlying the current conceptualization of translation and interpreting, from queer studies to cognitive science. Part III explores the key methodological approaches to research in Translation and Interpreting Studies, including corpus-based, longitudinal, observational, and ethnographic studies, as well as survey and focus group-based studies. The international range of contributors are all leading research experts who use the methodologies in their work. They present the research aims of these methods, offer sample research questions that can¿and cannot¿be addressed by these methods, and discuss modes of data collection and analysis. This is an essential reference for all advanced undergraduates, postgraduates, and researchers in Translation and Interpreting Studies.
The map : a beginner's guide to doing research in translation studies by
The Map is a practical guidebook introducing the basics of research in translation studies for students doing their first major research project in the field. Depending on where they are studying, this may be at advanced undergraduate (BA) or at postgraduate (MA/PHD) level.The book consists of ten chapters. Chapter 1 offers an overview of 12 research areas in translation studies in order to help students identify a topic and establish some of the current research questions relating to it. Chapter 2 is designed to assist students in planning their research project and covers topics su
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Essay Writing by
Essay Writing is a student guide with a mission: to enable students to write better essays by demystifying the essay-writing process. In contextualizing essay writing within the larger university experience - communication, the academic culture, different learning styles and approaches and learning and teaching at university, this book helps students to study more independently, learn more meaningfully and to write first-class essays. Essay Writing explains why essays are set and demonstrates how best to approach them. The book offers practical, in-depth guidance on each of the stages of the essay writing process - planning, drafting and editing, and relates them to the important sub-skills of information-gathering, reading academic texts, how to get the most out of lectures, referencing and citations, fluency and appropriateness of style and language. This is an easy to use, practical book designed to help students hone their essay writing skills and get the grade they deserve.
Moving Boundaries in Translation Studies by
Translation is in motion. Technological developments, digitalisation and globalisation are among the many factors affecting and changing translation and, with it, translation studies. Moving Boundaries in Translation Studies offers a bird's-eye view of recent developments and discusses their implications for the boundaries of the discipline. With 15 chapters written by leading translation scholars from around the world, the book analyses new translation phenomena, new practices and tools, new forms of organisation, new concepts and names as well as new scholarly approaches and methods. This is key reading for scholars, researchers and advanced students of translation and interpreting studies.
Discourse Analysis by
Discourse analysis is a term that has come to have different interpretations for scholars working in different disciplines. For a sociolinguist, it is concerned mainly with the structure of social interaction manifested in conversation; for a psycholinguist, it is primarily concerned with the nature of comprehension of short written texts; for the computational linguist, it is concerned with producing operational models of text-understanding within highly limited contexts. In this textbook, first published in 1983, the authors provide an extensive overview of the many and diverse approaches to the study of discourse, but base their own approach centrally on the discipline which, to varying degrees, is common to them all - linguistics. Using a methodology which has much in common with descriptive linguistics, they offer a lucid and wide-ranging account of how forms of language are used in communication. Their principal concern is to examine how any language produced by man, whether spoken or written, is used to communicate for a purpose in a context.
Check the Library catalogue for availability and location of any of these titles.
Search a database to find journal articles on your topic. Below are links to databases the Library subscribes to that will be particularly useful for topics to do with translation. You will need to access these databases via the Library website (A-Z databases tab) so that you can be associated with our paid subscriptions. Please note: you will be asked to login with your DCU username and password.
Full text access to approximately 411 peer-reviewed journals covering all the main subjects in the humanities, social sciences and hard sciences: mathematics and applied science, neuroscience and biomedicine, history, language and linguistics, political science and international relations. Now includes access to Cambridge Journals Digital Archive, the complete digital archive of Camridge journals, providing instant online access to two centuries of academic excellence and publishing history from Cambridge University Press.
Archive of almost 2,000 core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics. Current content is not generally available.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
LLBA provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science and gender studies, Project Muse offers over 530 full text titles from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Coverage: Varies according to title