LibGuides: Library Guide for Applied Language & Intercultural Studies: Search for journal articles

Intro

'Periodical' is an umbrella term for newspapers, magazines, journals - any title published regularly or irregularly. The Library subscribes to thousands of scholarly journals both in print and (mostly) online - you can search for a specific journal in Journal Finder. You will come across journal articles many times in the course of your studies; they may appear on your reading list and your lecturers will encourage you to consult journal articles when you're doing research, particularly when preparing your literature review.

Journal articles are excellent sources of scholarly information because they can provide very in-depth, up-to-date coverage of a subject; they are typically very structured and written by experts in a given field. Crucially, like books, journal articles that appear in scholarly academic journals are "peer-reviewed" which means they have been critically reviewed and evaluated by a panel of experts before being okay-ed for publication. All of this means that you (as researchers) are assured of the excellent quality of information in a published journal article.

Use the Library Search box below to find a specific article or to browse for articles on your topic. For a more focused search for articles relating to your topic, search one of the databases we recommend below.

This short video shows you how to find journal articles in Library Search

Databases we recommend for finding Journal Articles:

Click for access, then login with your DCU username and password where required.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 covering the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing. Coverage: Varies according to title.
BASE (multi-disciplinary search engine) This link opens in a new window BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is a multi-disciplinary search engine to scholarly internet resources, created by Bielefeld University Library in Bielefeld, Germany.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent and hosted by Lunds Universitet.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window LLBA provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Literature online This link opens in a new window With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism. It runs from the 8th Century to present and includes 340,000 works of poetry, 6,000 works of Drama, 2,250 works of prose as well as 210 journals
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It comprises a collection of 1.6 million citations drawn from 4,400 journals and other key global sources. Runs from 1963 to the present.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window Consists of 242 online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines. Includes access to JNCI Cancer Spectrum. Coverage: Varies according to title
Palgrave Connect - Social and Cultural Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
SAGE journals online This link opens in a new window SAGE Publications publishes over 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 16,000 titles from more than 4000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including, arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) This link opens in a new window Open access repository with abstracts of around 158,000 scholarly working papers with approximately 4 million downloads per year. Specialised network subsets includeCorporate Governance, legal Scholarship, Negotiations, Political Science and Economics.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window Previously Informaworld. Access to 1000+ peer reviewed journal titles published by Taylor and Francis, and a selection of journals published by Routledge and Psychology Press, covering arts and humanities, social sciences, sport, physics, mathematics, and chemistry.
Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for scholars of Translation Studies, Intercultural Studies and Cross Cultural Communication. Contains abstracts of articles from an extensive list of journals, electronic publications, collected volumes, and doctoral theses. More InfoA comprehensive resource for scholars of Translation Studies, Intercultural Studies and Cross Cultural Communication. Contains abstracts of articles from an extensive list of journals, electronic publications, collected volumes, and doctoral theses.
UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window Ulrichsweb is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,00 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window WoS is a multidisciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals. It also offers the unique "citation searching" feature, allowing users to see how many times a paper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the three databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Wiley Interscience This link opens in a new window Full-text access to over 400 Wiley journals including 85 Language and Linguistic titles and 174 titles in the field of Literature. Register to take advantage of alerting services and stay on top of the latest developments in your field. Full-text access to over 400 Wiley journals including 85 Language and Linguistic titles and 174 titles in the field of Literature. Register to take advantage of alerting services and stay on top of the latest developments in your field.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Full-text access to over 1,200 Wiley journals, E-books, reference works and databases covering subject areas including: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences. Register to take advantage of alerting services and stay on top of the latest developments in your field. Coverage: varies according to title.

See our A-Z list for full access to all Library databases.

Contact

Alexander Kouker | O'Reilly Library | Glasnevin Campus | alexander.kouker@dcu.ie

Got Questions?

Try our LETSfind e-tutorial