When searching for scholarly journal articles, among other publication types, for your research and assignments we recommend the databases listed below.
You can use ‘Library Search’ to search across multiple resources and databases simultaneously but using these individual databases will help you focus your search to the most relevant literature. It will also allow you to take advantage of some of the unique search features of each database.
We've listed the main 'disciplinary' specific databases which focus on a particular subject area as well as some 'multi-disciplinary' databases which allow you to search across multiple disciplines/subject areas.
Want to browse a particular journal? Our Journal Finder tool is an excellent tool to see the range of journals we have in philosophy (expand 'Philosophy & Religion' to see philosophy journals).
The following multidisciplinary citation databases can be useful as they allow you to search the scholarly literature across multiple disciplines (physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and life sciences) at the one time.
Scopus and Web of Science are citation indexes so you can track research via citations. You can see the references cited by each paper and view the papers that have subsequently cited a particular paper. It’s like looking back in time (the references cited by a paper) but also forward in time (the papers that cite a particular paper).
Academic Search Complete is another multidisciplinary database available on the EBSCOhost platform.
Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 covering the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 16,000 titles from more than 4000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature, including arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
Scopus Library Guide | E-tutorials and demos
Dissertations Abstracts is the largest single source of information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses available.
You can choose to either search dissertations and theses produced by students at Dublin City University (Dissertations & Theses @ Dublin City University) or the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I) or both.
Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science and gender studies, Project Muse offers over 530 full text titles from over 60 scholarly publishers.
Coverage: Varies according to title
Archive of almost 2,000 core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics. Current content is not generally available.
Coverage: Varies according to title.
