The majority of the DCU Library collections relating to the subject of English are located in Cregan library on DCU's St Patrick's campus in Drumcondra. Depending on your course of study, you are likely to find what you need in our Main Collection (2nd and 3rd floor). If you are studying children's literature you'll find relevant titles on the 1st floor, in our Junior Collection. Search Library Search by author, title or keyword to find a specific book or to browse our collections.
You'll need the shelf mark of a book and the library's floor plan to locate a print book on the shelf. Watch our 'Locating books on the shelf' video below for a short demonstration. Click here to find out more about borrowing, returning, reserving and renewing books.
Need more help? Try our LETSbegin tutorial or email info.library@dcu.ie.
DCU Library has over 150,000 e-books in its collections and this number is increasing all the time. You can find them easily by performing a title/author/keyword search on Library Search and then restrict the search results to "online resources" and "books" using the search filters on the left side of the results screen. Click on the link in the book record and you can read the book online or download it to your device. Watch our 'finding and accessing ebooks' video below for a short demonstration.
Our Junior Collection is a collection of children's literature designed to be used by students preparing for school placement. Books in this collection will be listed as 'Junior 3 wk loan Cregan' on Library Search and they are located on the 1st floor of Cregan Library. The collection reflects the themes featured in the primary curriculum: the core of the collection features Irish and Uk published classic and contemporary children's fiction and non fiction as well as award winning literature from other countries. Check out our themed recommendations below and use the teaching topics for further guidance on how this collection can be used to enrich lesson planning and support school placement. Click on any of the themes listed to view the collection in Library Thing, then check library availability in Library Search. 
Refugee and migrant experience
5th & 6th Class recommended reads
Wordless Picture Books (Stories without words)
Open Education students can access excellent research resources for each Literature Module by following these links:
Lit 1: Open Education course bookshelf
Lit 2: Open Education course bookshelf
Lit 3: Open Education course bookshelf
Lit 4: Open Education course bookshelf
Lit 5: Open Education course bookshelf
Lit 6: Open Education course bookshelf
Email: geraldine.mcnamara@dcu.ie
Phone: (01) 700 8744
Use your new searching skills to find a print book in the library or to find and access an ebook. Just type in your search terms here!
If you're browsing the shelves for titles relevant to English literature then visit shelves at these numbers in any of our three libraries.
Look for fiction for which copyright has expired (this happens 70 years after the death of the author) at Project Gutenberg.
Freely download texts by Jane Austen, Nathaniel Hawthorne, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Maria Edgeworth, W. B. Yeats, and more!