LibGuides: Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health Subject Guide: Databases

Your search strategy

LETS tutorial - LETS find

LETSfind 4 modules:

LETSfind will show you how to search for and evaluate information for your assignments outside of your modules' reading lists.
You will learn how to:

run simple and more advanced searches with the Library's journal databases
find articles using the Find Articles tab on the Library homepage
use Google Scholar and become familiar with our tips and tricks for better Web searching
make sure you're finding the most appropriate, high-quality information you need for your assignments

What's a database?

Before databases came along, we relied on indexes, abstracts, contents pages, and a whole lot of reading when trying to find material relevant to our research.

Databases are incredibly powerful engines that allow us to search the content of thousands of journal articles by keyword, as well as provide us with electronic access to the full text of many of them. Some databases are multi-disciplinary whilst others are discipline-specific.

Lots of our databases are made available to us via the nationally funded IReL consortium (IReL stands for the Irish Research eLibrary), some we subscribe to as an institution; others are freely available online.

Databases we recommend for nursing topics - start searching here

Nursing

American Medical Association (AMA) This link opens in a new window AMA Journals are among the most widely circulated family of peer-reviewed medical journals in the world. Each journal ranks among the top clinical journals in its respective field in terms of citations. Provides full text access to JAMA (Journal of American Medical Association) plus 9 speciality archives journals. Coverage: Varies according to title
BNF This link opens in a new window The authority on the selection and use of medicines. The BNF is organised for quick reference and provides information for healthcare professionals on safe and effective use of medicines, and the management of common conditions.
BNF for Children This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Indexing for approximately 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Full text of approx 750 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials E-tutorials
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Part of the Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library is considered to be the prime source of evidence-based healthcare. Contains Systematic Reviews, Controlled Trials Register and more. This database is freely available to anyone on the island of Ireland.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources.
MEDLINE via EBSCO This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MEDLINE via OVID This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to 80 full text e-books in the areas of cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and cognitive development.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycArticles is a database of full text articles on current issues in psychology. It covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 77 journals published by the APA and allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 77 journals. You can also access the fulltext of this database via linked abstracts in PsycINFO database (see below). Coverage: 1987 - present
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window PsycBooks is the APA's full text e-book collection in the area of psychology. It provides access to 778 books published by APA, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950–2002, 1,027 classic resources in psychology and exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. This database also allows seamless linking to the fulltext of articles contained in PsycArticles database (see above)
PubMed This link opens in a new window freely available version of Medline.

Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health Subject Guide: Databases

Your search strategy

LETS tutorial - LETS find

What's a database?

Databases we recommend for nursing topics - start searching here

Video help