LibGuides: Library Guide for Law: Journals, databases &amp; websites

Search for journal articles from DCU Library's databases

You can also browse journals by subject (Law, Politics & Government) via our A-Z journals list.

Selected law journals

Ireland & beyond...

Irish Jurist 1966 to Present [via Westlaw IE]	Irish Criminal Law Journal 1991 to Present [via Westlaw IE]	Irish Employment Law Journal 2004 to Present [via Westlaw IE]
Irish Law Times (ILT) 1983 to Present [via Westlaw IE]	Law Society Gazette 1999 to Present [via ...]	Irish Journal of Family Law 1998 to Present [via Westlaw IE]
Bar Review 1996 to Present [via Westlaw IE]	Irish Planning & Environmental Law Journal 1994 to Present [via Westlaw IE]	Hibernian Law Journal 2000 to Present [via Westlaw IE]
Yale Law Journal 1891 to Present [via HeinOnline]	Common Market Law Review 1963 to Present [via Kluwer Law International]	Stanford Law Review 1948 to Present [via HeinOnline]

Databases

Click for access, then login with your DCU username and password where required.

Heinonline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest image-based legal research database offering access to tens of millions of pages of research material. Fully searchable and browseable access to full-text collections, including:
- Law journal library (over 350 US and international academic law journals going back to first issues).
- US Supreme Court library (incl. US Reports from 1754).
- E-tutorials.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
vLex Justis is the new platform enabling access to upgraded JustisOne collections and offers a global index of legal materials to search across. It provides full text access to Irish, EU, UK, Canadian case law, as well as the ability to access legislation and much more for these jurisdictions.
Lexis Library (Legal) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive legal database containing case law, expert commentary, and primary and secondary legislation as amended.
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
MoML provides access to 10.6 million pages of legal history relating to American and British Commonwealth law from 1800. It allows full text searching of 22,000 rare works from casebooks to local practice manuals to speeches - all of which are subdivided into 99 subject areas.
Westlaw IE This link opens in a new window
Updated daily, Westlaw IE offers online access to Irish legal materials such as case reports, case digests, legal journals and unreported judgements. Search Round Hall's legal material dating as far back as 1976.
If you are currently experiencing issues logging into Westlaw IE please click here as an alternative.
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK is an online legal database containing a comprehensive collection of UK Law Reports, legislation and Law journals as well as EU, US and International content. Combined with a highly sophisticated online platform, the constantly updated database provides superb access to UK, European and International Law. includes CELEX.
If you are currently experiencing issues logging into Westlaw UK please click here for federated access. Skip 'sign in using one pass' and go straight to 'access through academic institution' at the bottom of the page, then choose Dublin City University from the drop down menu and login with your normal DCU credentials. Apologies for the temporary inconvenience while we rectify the situation.

See our A-Z database list for full access to all Library databases.

Websites

Consider the websites we recommend below

BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)
Provides free access to British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This resource allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Constitution of Ireland
The text of the Irish Constitution published on the (electronic Irish Statute Book) eISB.
Curia
Provides free access to case law from the EU Court of Justice, General Court and Civil Service Tribunal from 1997. Includes opinions form the Advocate General.
EU Law European Union website
Covers EU by topic, regulations, decision making, applications of EU Law, EU legislation, EU Case Law, European Policy Making and the Lisbon Treaty.
European Union Law
Free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to the Official Journal of the European Union, EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.), preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.), EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.), international agreements and EFTA documents.
Hansard House of Commons and House of Lords
The official “substantially verbatim” report of what is debated in parliament.
House of Commons Hansard archives
Read debates from the Commons Chamber and Westminster Hall, Public Bill and General Committees, from November 1988 to March 2016. You can also view House of Commons Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005.
Irish Law Site
Guide to Irish Law; Irish Legislation; Irish Cases; Legal Subjects; E-Mail Lists / Groups. Hosted by UCC School of Law.
Irish Statute Book
This resource is created by the Office of the Attorney General and provides full text of the Acts of the Oireachtas, Statutory Instruments and Chronological Tables of the Statutes back to 1922. Also includes the Legislation Directory.
IRLII (Irish Legal Information Initiative)
IRLII is intended to complement, rather than compete with, BAILII. Apart from providing BAILLI with Irish content, IRLII also offers a number of unique services.
Law Reform Commission
Commission's role is to keep the law under review and to conduct research with a view to the reform of the law. The 1975 Act defines law reform to include:the development of law,its codification (including its simplification and modernisation) and the revision and consolidation of statute law.
Office of the Attorney General
The most recent Statutory Instruments are published on this page prior to being published on the main electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) site.
Oireachtas Website
Government website which provides information on the DAIL, the Seanad, House Committees, TD's and Senators, Oireachtas business and Irish Parliamentary Debates and events.
UK Legislation
UK Acts, UK Public Acts, UK Local Acts, Acts of the National Assembly for Wales, Acts of the Scotish Parliament and draft Legislation
Statutory Instruments for Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and UK.
Pre 1800 Acts for Scotland England Wales.
Measures.

Contact

Alexander Kouker | O'Reilly Library | Glasnevin Campus | alexander.kouker@dcu.ie

Click here to view our guide to finding Irish and European cases

Click here to view our guide to finding Irish and European legislation

Got Questions?

Try our LETSfind e-tutorial