Subject Guide for Law: Useful Websites and resources

Constitution of Ireland
The text of the Irish Constitution published on the electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB).

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Provides the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.

EUR-Lex.europa.edu
Direct free access to European Union law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.), preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.), EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.), international agreements and EFTA documents.

EU Law European Union website
Covers EU by topic, regulations, decision making, applications of EU Law, EU legislation, EU Case Law, European Policy Making and the Lisbon Treaty.

BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)
Provides free access to British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.

Curia: The Court of Justice of the European Union
Provides free access to case law from the EU Court of Justice, General Court and Civil Service Tribunal from 1997. Includes opinions form the Advocate General.

Hansard House of Commons and House of Lords
The official “substantially verbatim” report of what is debated in parliament.

House of Commons Hansard archives
Read debates from the Commons Chamber and Westminster Hall, Public Bill and General Committees, from November 1988 to March 2016. You can also view House of Commons Historic Hansard for debates from 1803-2005.

Irish Statute Book
Includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments, the official versions of which remain the printed versions published by Government Publications. Track amendments to legislation, access the Constitution and a selection of pre-1922 legislation while links to external legislation resources are also provided.

Law Reform Commission
Commission's role is to keep the law under review and to conduct research with a view to the reform of the law. The 1975 Act defines law reform to include: the development of law, its codification (including its simplification and modernisation) and the revision and consolidation of statute law.

Office of the Attorney General
The most recent Statutory Instruments are published on this page prior to being published on the main electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) site.

Oireachtas Website
Government website which provides information on the Dail, the Seanad, House Committees, TD's and Senators, Oireachtas business and Irish Parliamentary Debates and events.

UK Legislation
UK Acts, UK Public Acts, UK Local Acts, Acts of the National Assembly for Wales, Acts of the Scottish Parliament and draft Legislation
Statutory Instruments for Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and UK. Pre-1800 Acts for Scotland, England Wales. Measures.

Europa: Gateway to the European Union
Links to EU documents, from legal texts to historical records, the latest EU-wide surveys and opinion polls.

Irish Patents Office
Includes access to Patents Register, Patent Database, Supplementary Protection Certificate (SPC) database, Trade Marks database, Design Register and Design database.

Northern Ireland Assembly Publications
Research publications covering a variety of topics that are of interest to Members, Committees and the general public.

Child Care Law Reporting Project
The Child Care Law Reporting Project (CCLRP) has been established to provide information to the public on the operation of the child care system and to promote transparency and accountability.

Digital Rights Ireland
Dedicated to defending Civil, Human and Legal rights in a digital age. See also the blog IT Law in Ireland; Tech Law Blog (by A&L Goodbody)

Irish Law Blogs
Lists currently active Irish blawgs – some university-based, some not.