See below for a list of recommended databases for Physical Sciences, as well as recommended multidisciplinary & citation databases.
Click for access, then login with your DCU username and password where required.
Consult the A to Z of Library Databases to overview and access all available subscription databases.
EI Engineering Village is the interface for Compendex and Inspec databases. You can also carry out a combined search of the two databases and remove duplicate records.
This database indexes and summarises over 4,000 journals and 2,000 conference proceedings, books, reports relating to physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science, control, and information technology. Access available through EI Engineering Village.
Coverage: 1969 - to date
WoS is a multidisciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals. It also offers the unique "citation searching" feature, allowing users to see how many times a paper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the three databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Help & E-tutorials: Web of Science - Search Tips (05:37 minutes) | Web Of Science Library Guide
Web of Knowledge is a web-based platform which provides access to high-quality research information. Several products are available to search within the Web of Knowledge platform
EMBASE (Excerpta Medica), is the most comprehensive database in biomedicine and pharmacology and gives you access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects with over 11 million records. The EMBASE journal collection is international with over 4,500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. Allows simultaneous searching of the Medline database.
Coverage: 1974 - present
Video Tutorials 
Useful information on using EMBASE can be found at the Embase Support Center