Library Guide for Sociology

IRISH WEBSITES

• An Garda Síochána: Data including crime and accident statistics, annual reports and surveys
• Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth: Irish Government reports and statistics
• ESRI: Research that informs public policymaking and civil society in Ireland
• HEA: Publications and policies of the Higher Education Authority of Ireland 
• Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission: Reports and publications from the IHREC
• Irishgenealogy.ie: Online records from the historic Registers to the Civil Registers of Births, Marriages and Deaths and the 1901 and 1911 Census
• Irish Government Website: Information and links relating to the Irish State
• Irish Qualitative Data Archive (IQDA): Irish qualitative data and helpful data resource management tips for researchers
• Ombudsman for Children in Ireland: Access policy submissions and advice to Government, OCO strategies, reports and more 
• Publicpolicy.ie: Research related to public policy in Ireland 

INTERNATIONAL WEBSITES

• Campbell Library: Find systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, social welfare and international development
• Eurostat: High-quality statistical information on the EU Member States, some key indicator snapshots are free to view
• SocioSite: Aims to provide a comprehensive listing of all sociology resources on the Internet
• SSRN: Preprints of scholarly research in the social sciences, humanities, life sciences, health sciences, and more
• United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Access the UN's reports, statistics and datasets

There are vast amounts of research data openly available for reuse, often removing the need for researchers to create original data. See the dataset sources we have listed below, there are many more available online. Ensure that you abide by the terms of the reuse licence of any of the datasets you use, and cite the original dataset and its creator(s).

IRISH DATASETS

• Central Statistics Office: Hosts databases including StatBank; Census of Population, Agriculture and several other public sector areas.
• Includes statistical databases from International Organizations such as Eurostat, ECB, OECD, UNECE, UNSC, & IMF.
• Data.gov.ie: Promoting innovation and transparency through the publication of Irish Public Sector data in open, free and reusable formats.
• DCC Housing Monitoring Tool: Based on the set of all housing Census variables in Ireland. https://airo.maynoothuniversity.ie/
• Dublinked: Dublin’s Open Data Store
• eHealth Ireland: HSE datasets
• Geohive: Spatial data from over 35 public sector organisations
• ISSDA (Irish Social Science Data Archive):Quantitative social science datasets and comparative studies of the Irish economy and Irish society
• OSI: Ordnance Survey Ireland OSI Open data portal

INTERNATIONAL DATASETS

• Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives: National data archives for social science teaching and research in Europe
• EU Open Data Portal: Open data from international, EU, national, regional, local and geo data portals
• European Social Survey (ESS): A biennial multi-country survey covering over 30 nations
• OECD iLibrary: Publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development)
• SHARE (Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe): Micro-data on health, socio-economic status and social networks of people aged 50+
• UK Data Archive (UKDA): Largest collection of digital data in the Social Sciences and Humanities in the U.K.
• UK Data Service: The UK's largest collection of economic, social and population data for research and teaching
• UN Open Data Portal: Access international statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN)
• UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Profiles, reports and global datasets on the subjects of education, literacy, culture and more
• World Development Indicators (WDI Online): Database of development information covering over 225 countries 
• World Health Organisation: Data collections related to global health and well-being