LibGuides: Library guide for Physical Sciences: Physical Sciences databases

Accessing Databases

Find lots of articles on your topic in the Library's A-Z databases

Databases we recommend for Physical Sciences

Inspec via EI Engineering Village
Inspec (accessed via Engineering Village) contains over 21 million records, and is one of the most definitive abstract and indexing databases for subject specific and interdisciplinary research in physics and engineering. Inspec can be used to alert you to new developments in your field, track new technology and products, monitor competitors, search for patent novelty and analyse data by a wide variety of parameters. Coverage: 1969 - Present
Web of Science
WOS is a multi-disciplinary citation database covering over 10,000of the world's highest impact research journals. It offers the unique "citation searching" feature , allowing users to see how many times a pagper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).
Web of Science Library Guide
Scopus
Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 25,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
Scopus Library Guide

Other relevant databases:

Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 journals. Covers the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing.
Annual Reviews
Analytic reviews in 34 disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews save you time by synthesising the vast aount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Coverage: 1996 - present.

List of Physical Sciences & Multi-Disciplinary Databases available in DCU (A-Z)

Academic Search Complete Full-text access to more than 8,000 journals (over 7,000 peer-reviewed) and indexing for almost 12,000 journals. Covers the following disciplines: business, communications, computer science, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, education and nursing.
American Institute of Physics (AIP) Full-text access to 13 AIP journals focusing on interdisciplinary and applied topics in physics, astronomy and related fields of science and technology.
American Physical Society (APS) APS strives to 'advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics'. Provides full-text access to 16 APS journals with archival access to all APS titles as far back as 1893 through PROLA (Physical Reviews Online Archive).
Annual Reviews Analytic reviews in 34 disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews save you time by synthesising the vast aount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in your field. Coverage: 1996 - present.
ArXiv ArXiv is a free distribution service and open-access archive for 2,317,488 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by ArXiv.
more...less...
ArXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the ArXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the ArXiv Member Advisory Board, with the help of numerous subject moderators.
This is a free electronic resource and DCU cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
Institute of Physics Access the full-text of the Institute of Physics journals. Includes access to archive from 1874.
Nature Publishing Group Includes access to Nature magazine and other titles from Nature Publishing Group covering subjects of biology, chemistry, environmental sciences, genetics, medicine, microbiology, pharmacology physics, resource & science
Optica Publishing Group Optica Publishing Group publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed articles in its portfolio of journals, which serve the full breadth of the optics and photonics community. Optica Publishing Group's portfolio offers the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content. With more than 400,000 journal articles, conference papers, and videos to search, discover, and access, Optica Publishing Group represents the full range of research in the field from around the globe.
PROLA Backfile access to the American Physical Society (APS) journals. Access varies according to title and goes as far back to 1897 for Physical Review (Series 1).
SAGE Journals Online SAGE Publications publish over 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology and Medicine.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect offers access to the full-text of over 2,000 Elsevier journals and navigation across 30 million records with links to 10,000 journal titles - covering all fields of science.
Scopus Scopus is one of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources. It offers access to over 25,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, with abstracts available back to 1966. Citation data is available from 1996. Coverage includes scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts and humanities. There are also 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices as well as links to 'Articles in Press' from over 3,000 journals.
SpringerLink Electronic access to almost 2,000 journals from Springer-Veralg. It also offers access to the work of publishers, including Kluwer, Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, and Birkhaus. (N.B. No content from Brill Academic). Coverage: varies according to title.
Web of Science WOS is a multi-disciplinary citation database covering over 10,000of the world's highest impact research journals. It offers the unique "citation searching" feature , allowing users to see how many times a pagper/author has been cited and by whom. It consists of the databases: the Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).

SensusAccess

SensusAccess can convert your documents and readings into different formats that are more useful for you. These formats can include MP3 files, E-books, Word files and Digital Braille books.

You can use SensusAccess to convert your:

Slides & lecture notes
Scanned PDF documents
Pictures of text captured with your smartphone
PowerPoint presentations
Journal articles

Find more information about SensusAccess here.

Introduction - Text

CONTACT

Email: emma.stapleton@dcu.ie

O'Reilly Library, DCU Glasnevin