Our Teaching Collection comprises a wide variety of curriculum resources designed to support education students in acquiring the necessary skills to succeed in a classroom environment. On Library Search, these titles will appear as 'Primary Teaching Cregan' and the titles can be found on the 1st floor, Cregan Library.
This collection is subject to periods of heavy demand especially during school placement and to ensure access we maintain a REFERENCE ONLY Collection within the main teaching collection. Reference Only titles can be consulted in the library but cannot be borrowed - they are easily identifiable by the use of Blue Spine labels. Items in the reference only collection are listed as 'Reserve Teaching Cregan/ not loanable' in their Library Search record.
The following resources can be found in the teaching collection:
Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask for help
We also hold a small collection of non-book resources used in classrooms
You can read more about these resources here.
Games (Gaelige)
Percussion Sets
Puppets
Puzzles (literacy & numeracy)
Story sacks
On the 1st floor in Cregan Library, all of the items in our Primary Teaching Collection are labeled with the prefix TC, all items in our Post Primary Teaching Collection have the prefix TC PP.
As this collection is subject to heavy demand the library holds multiple copies of many titles for 48 hour (red label on spine), 1 week (white label on spine) or 3 week loan periods.
To find books in our Teaching Collection quickly, search for a title in Library Search and from the filters on the left of the screen choose 'collection' and select 'Primary School Teaching.'