See our Library Guides below for help in searching specific databases
EBSCOhost Databases (a number of databases are hosted in EBSCO, including Sport Discus and CINAHL Complete)
Scopus
Web of Science
Sport Discus with Full Text
Produced by the American Psychological Association, APA PsycTests is a one-of-a-kind database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. It provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
CINAHL Complete
This database offers access journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, in addition to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Uses Evidence-based Care Sheets and CINAHL Subject Headings also, and offers full text of legal cases, clinical innovations and trials, drug records, and research instruments.
MEDLINE (via OVID)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
(MEDLINE via EBSCO is also available if required. We recommend using MEDLINE (via OVID) as above however as it offers some increased functionality and search filters)
PubMed is the free public interface to the MedLine database. It also links to the full text archive PubMed Central.
PsycINFO 
PsycINFO contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, sociology, education, and physiology.
Uses APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms, as well as offering specific search filters such as age group, methodology, and Impact Statements.
This full PsycINFO database links to both the PsycArticles and PsycBooks databases as part of its search.
Oxford Reference (Including over 1 million entries across 25 subject areas, it offers the very best in quick reference information)
Sage Research Methods Core Collection (SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate research methods library)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Extensive reference encyclopedia covering a range of subject areas and articles)
Cochrane Library
(If you are having any issues accessing information on Cochrane, please try this direct link)
Part of the Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library is considered to be the prime source of evidence-based healthcare. Contains Systematic Reviews, Controlled Trials Register and more. This database is freely available to anyone on the island of Ireland.
Dynamed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organised summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources.
BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool offering a step-by-step approach to help manage patient diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. Freely available to residents in the Republic of Ireland via a national licence funded by the HSE National Health Library and Knowledge Service.
A BMJ Best Practice app is also available to download. Register a free account to customise your experience and information needs
( See our full listing A to Z of Library Databases on the library homepage for further information on these databases, and to browse others.)
Sage Journals Online (Multi-discipline database with over 500 journals, incl. Life & Biomedical sciences)
Education Research Complete (Bibliographic/full text database of research relating to all areas of education, incl. early childhood, and health education)
BMJ (Provides access to a wide range of medical journals, including BMJ, and covers a broad spectrum of medical specialities)
Web of Science (A multi-disciplinary citation database covering over 10,000 of the world's highest impact research journals)
Scopus (One of the largest multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing databases of research literature and quality web sources)
Academic Search Complete (A leading resource for scholarly research, covering a wide range of disciplines)
ScienceDirect (Access to the full-text of over 2,000 Elsevier journals - covering all fields of science)
Taylor & Francis Online (Previously Informaworld. Access to 1000+ multi-discipline peer reviewed journal titles)
ERIC International (Combines two databases - The Australian Education Index, and (ERIC) the US Educational Resources Information Center)
Wiley Online Library (A multi-disciplinary database with access to over 1,200 Wiley journals, E-books, reference works and databases)
Oxford Scholarship Online: Public Health Epidemiology Collection (Provides access to 102 full text e-books in the area of public health & epidemiology)
Hi! My name is Celine Campbell, and I am the Subject Librarian for the School of Health and Human Performance.
I'm here to help support you in your studies and research, so please get in touch if you have any questions about anything in this Subject Guide, or about any of our other library research resources.
Contact Me:
eMail: celine.campbell@dcu.ie
Tel: + 353 1 700 5923
O'Reilly Library, DCU Glasnevin Campus
Other DCU Resources
Library Classes & Workshops
Library Help & Supports
Writing and Study Resources
DCU Writing Centre
Study Skills Appointments
DCU Autism Friendly
