Skip to main content

Zotero citation management: Creating bibliographies

Adding citation styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style:

  1. Go to the Zotero Standalone and select 'Preferences' under the 'Edit' tab
  2. Select the 'Cite tab'
  3. Review existing styles in the Style Manager; import additional styles if required
  4. To do so, click 'Get additional styles...'
  5. Browse/search for the desired style template and left-click to add to the Style Manager

The new style will now appear in Zotero's style lists.

Note: Cite Them Right 10th edition - applies unless your school/lecturer requires a different style.

Creating quick bibliographies

It is straightforward to quickly create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you would like to include. Hold the crtl key and mouse-click multiple items. Right click one of the selected items and choose 'Create Bibliography'

Select the bibliographic style you want, select 'Copy to Clipboard', click OK and paste into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Creating your bibliography while you write...

​Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.