Skip to Main Content

Education: Databases

Sage Research Methods

DCU Library highly recommends the SAGE Video Education database 

This interactive website with associated Guide is an invaluable one stop interface for all your research methods queries. Access it from the links above or use our A-Z Databases tab.

Official Publications and Datasets

Let's Find tutorial

Try our LETSfind e-tutorial

LETSfind 4 modules:

  • Introduction to Database Searching
  • Effective Search Techniques
  • Effective Web Searching
  • Be critical: Evaluating sources

LETSfind will show you how to search for and evaluate information for your assignments outside of your modules' reading lists.
          You will learn how to: 

  • run simple and more advanced searches with the Library's journal databases
  • find articles using the Find Articles tab on the Library homepage
  • use Google Scholar and become familiar with our tips and tricks for better Web searching
  • make sure you're finding the most appropriate, high-quality information you need for your assignments 

Key Databases for Education Students

The list of databases below provides access to peer-reviewed scholarly information in the field of education. Do remember that information on subjects of interest to students of education such as music or art are also covered by other specialist databases: follow this link for a full alphabetical list. DCU Library's A-Z Databases

Top Tip

While most databases have built-in thesauri, you may find it helpful to look at the controlled vocabulary in the UNESCO Thesaurus when you begin your searches in a new topic or subject area.

Getting started with databases

1. Consider your research question and identify key concepts. 

2. Next, identify keywords and search terms, don't forget to consider alternative words with similar meanings. 

3. Choose a database, hover over the title to check subject coverage. 

4. Search the database by entering your keywords individually or in combination using Boolean operators AND/OR/NOT.