Skip to main content

Communications Subject Guide: Books

New titles just arrived | coming soon

Dewey shelf marks

Most Communication Studies, Journalism and Multimedia books are located on the first floor of the Glasnevin library.

Subject Class Number
Advertising 659.1
Broadcast Media, News Reporting 070.1
Computer Science 004
Culture and Institutions, Visual Culture & Multiculturalism 306
Economics 330
Digital Audio, Video Production 778.5
Film, Radio, Television Production 791.45
History 900
Informatics 303.483
International Relations, Foreign Policy 327.1
Journalism 070
Law 340
Linguistics 410
Marketing 658.8
Mass Communication / Mass Media 302.2
Multimedia Technologies 006.6
Performing Arts 790 - 792
Photography, Digital Art, Cinematography and Animation 770 - 780
Political Science 320
Psychology 150
Public Relations 659.2
Radio, Television, Broadcasting 384.55
Scriptwriting 808.23
Semiotics 401.41
Sociology 301

 

Where to look for books and ebooks

Print
‚Äč
The Library shelves print books according to their subject matter using the Dewey Decimal Classification System (numbers 000 to 999) so that like-material sits in close proximity on the shelf in the Glasnevin Library.

Copies of the print collection are spread between the Main Lending Collection (you may borrow main lending copies for 1 or 3 weeks) and the Short Loan Collection (borrow these copies for 48 hours) according to demand. Check the catalogue for availability. 

eBooks
The Library now has access to over 150,000 e-books, all of which are searchable via the catalogue. When you search the Library catalogue for a title or keyword, you will find that an increasing number of records are for an "e-book". This means that by clicking on the link within one of these records, you can read that book online. Note the option to filter your search results by selecting e-books from the collection menu on the left. If you access an e-book from an off-campus location you will be prompted for your DCU username and password.

Consult the Library Quick Guide to learn more.


 Recommended

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides full-text access to 308 comprehensive, top quality journals in areas related to communications and mass media studies. CMMC originated with the merging of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. Includes thesaurus.

E-tutorials: Basic Searching | Advanced Searching | Creating Journal Alerts | Creating Search Alerts

Video help

These videos will show you how to find a book on the shelf and borrow it using the self-issue machines; click on the second video to find out how to access an eBook.