Skip to main content

Law & Government Subject Guide: Books

New titles just arrived | coming soon

Where to look for books and ebooks

Print

The Library shelves print books according to their subject matter using the Dewey Decimal Classification System (numbers 000 to 999) so that like-material sits in close proximity on the shelf. Broadly speaking, political studies are shelved at 320-329; and law is shelved at 340-349 (see below left) in the O'Reilly Library.

Copies of all print books are spread between the Main Lending Collection (you may borrow main lending copies for 1 or 3 weeks) and the Short Loan Collection (borrow these copies for 48 hours) according to demand. Check the catalogue for availability.

Image: Mr.TinDC/Flickr

eBooks

The Library now has access to over 150,000 e-books, all of which are searchable via the catalogue. When you search the Library catalogue for a title or keyword, you will find that an increasing number of records are for an "e-book". This means that by clicking on the link within one of these records, you can read that book online. Note the option to filter your search results by selecting e-books from the collection menu on the left. If you access an e-book from an off-campus location you will be prompted for your DCU username and password.


 Recommended

The Library also subscribes to database Making of Modern Law (MOML) which provides access to 10.6 million pages of legal history relating to American and British Commonwealth law from 1800. It allows full text searching of 22,000 rare works from casebooks, to local practice manuals, to speeches - all of which are subdivided into 99 subject areas. Go to the Library website > A-Z Databases > 'M' > Making of Modern Law. 

Video help

These videos will show you how to locate and access books and ebooks in the Library catalogue.