LibGuides: Teaching topic: World War II: Classroom Resources

Introduction

This page provides links to lesson plans for primary and secondary classes on World War 2 and primary sources freely available on the web, and it points to relevant resource packs in our Reserve Collection.

Classroom resources on the web

Learning resources by the Imperial War Museum, London
Most refer to the First World War but see The 1940s house, D-Day: teachers' sources and Second World War posters alongside suggested activities PDFs
Down County Museum resources
Resources for teachers on WW2 by Down County Museum. Includes articles on the Holocaust, Millisle refugee farm (Co. Down) and notes on incorporating Marilyn Taylor's Faraway home.
Scoilnet classroom resources on WW2
Portal page for the Department of Education and Science. Select resources for primary and post-primary. Links to an activities tab and a tab on Anne Frank and the Holocaust
Ten facts about World War 2
By National Geographic for kids. Includes a number of slides.
DK find out!
Wonderful site by Dorling Kindersley
Resources: Children in World War 2
By the Historical Association. Notes for primary classroom use on the experiences of evacuated children (Britain)
Learning resources by the National WW2 Museum, New Orleans
American site of lesson plans and resources
BBC teacher's resources on WW2
An excellent set of pages (archived, no longer updated) for teachers on many aspects of World War 2 for primary level.
more...less...
See also: http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/worldwars/wwtwo/
Blog post: Life in Ireland during the Emergency
Written by Abigail Rieley.

WW2 flash cards
by Seomra Ranga; for primary level

Association for Drama in Education in Ireland
Sample drama schemes - includes an integrated drama lesson plan World War II evacuees for 5th and 6th classes by Deirdre O'Dwyer

Search the web for more

Resource packs

Resource packs contain loose-leaf, photocopiable resources to support teaching. The following resource packs are relevant to the Second World War and are held in the Reserve Collection (on the first floor), available for 3 hour loan:

The Crocus Project HISTORY RESOURCE PACK 4H
Daily life in a wartime house 1939-45 HISTORY RESOURCE PACK 5H
Evacuees HISTORY RESOURCE PACK 8H
Posters from the Home Front 1939-1945 HISTORY RESOURCE PACK 38H

World War II by Evan Mawdsley
Call Number: Main Collection 940.53/MAW
ISBN: 0521608430
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
British Children's Fiction in the Second World War by Owen Dudley Edwards
Call Number: Main Collection 809.89282/EDW
ISBN: 0748616519
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

Teaching topic: World War II: Classroom Resources

Introduction

Classroom resources on the web

Search the web for more

Resource packs

TES clips from Teachers TV